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LCB File No. T043-01 
 

ADOPTED TEMPORARY REGULATION OF THE NEVADA STATE 
BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINERS 

(Effective May 18, 2001) 
 

SEC. 1.  CHAPTER 638 OF NAC IS HEREBY AMENDED AS FOLLOWS: 
 
EXPLANATION-Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [ ] is material to be omitted. 
 
 

VETERINARY CHIROPRACTIC 
 
 
Reviser’s Note. 
 The regulation of the Nevada state board of veterinary medical examiners filed with the secretary of state on December 7, 1999 
(LCB File No. R115-99), the source of NAC 638.800 to 638.840, inclusive (sections 1 to 6, inclusive, of the regulation), contains the 
following provision not included in NAC: 
 “Sec. 11.  The Nevada state board of veterinary medical examiners will review the provisions of sections 1 to 6, inclusive, of 
this regulation at its first regular meeting held after January 1, 2001, to determine whether to repeal those sections or to make any 
changes to those sections which the board deems appropriate.” 

 
NAC 638.021  “veterinarian-client-patient relationship” defined. “veterinarian-client-patient 
relationship” means that the veterinarian has assumed the responsibility for making medical 
judgments regarding the health of an animal being treated and the need for medical 
treatment. There is sufficient knowledge of the animal(s) by the veterinarian to initiate at least 
a general or preliminary diagnosis of the medical condition of the animal(s). This means that 
the veterinarian has recently seen and is personally acquainted with the keeping and care of 
the animal(s) by virtue of a physical examination of the animal(s) or by medically appropriate 
and timely visits to the premises where the animal(s) are kept. The veterinarian has obtained 
informed consent and the client has agreed to follow the instruction. The veterinarian is 
readily available for follow-up in the case of adverse reactions or failure of the regimen of 
therapy. 
 
NAC 638.800  “Veterinary chiropractic” defined. (NRS 638.070)  As used in NAC 638.800 to 
638.840, inclusive, “veterinary chiropractic” means the examination and treatment of a 
nonhuman animal through the manipulation and adjustment of specific joints and cranial sutures 
of the animal. 
 
NAC 638.810  Requirements to practice; application for registration certificate; fee. (NRS 
638.070) 
 1.  A person shall not practice veterinary chiropractic in this state unless he is: 
 (a) A veterinarian; or 
 (b) A chiropractor who has obtained a registration certificate pursuant to this section and 
complies with the provisions of NAC 638.830. 
 2.  A chiropractor who desires to secure a registration certificate to practice veterinary 
chiropractic in this state must make written application to the board. 
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 3.  The application must be on a form provided by the board, include any information required 
by the board and be accompanied by satisfactory proof that the applicant: 
 (a) Is of good moral character; 
 (b) Has been an active licensed chiropractor in this state for at least 1 year; 
 (c) Is in good standing with the chiropractic physicians’ board of Nevada; and 
 (d) Is certified by the American Veterinary Chiropractic Association. 
 4.  The application must be signed by the applicant, notarized and accompanied by a fee of 
$50. 
 5.  Except as otherwise provided in NAC 638.840, upon receipt of the application and 
information required by subsection 3 and payment of the fee, the board will issue to the 
chiropractor a certificate of registration. 
 
 NAC 638.820  Expiration and renewal of certificate; fee. (NRS 638.070) 
 1.  Each certificate of registration issued pursuant to NAC 638.810 or renewed pursuant to 
this section expires on January 1 of each year. 
 2.  Each application for renewal of a certificate of registration must be: 
 (a) Submitted in the form established by the board; 
 (b) Signed by the chiropractor, notarized and accompanied by a fee of $25; 
 (c) Accompanied by proof that the chiropractor completed, during the 12-month period 
immediately preceding the beginning of the new registration year, at least [5] 15 hours of 
continuing education in veterinary chiropractic approved by the board; and 
 (d) Accompanied by proof that his license as a chiropractor in this state is active and that he is 
in good standing with the chiropractic physicians’ board of Nevada. 
 3.  A chiropractor who fails to renew his certificate of registration before it expires forfeits his 
certificate of registration. 
 4.  Except as otherwise provided in NAC 638.840, upon receipt of the application for renewal 
and information required by subsection 2 and payment of the fee, the board will renew the 
certificate of registration of the chiropractor. 
 
NAC 638.830  Standards of practice for chiropractor holding certificate; maintenance of records. 
(NRS 638.070) 
 1.  A chiropractor who has been issued a certificate of registration pursuant to NAC 638.810 
may practice veterinary chiropractic only: 
 [(a) On the written order of a veterinarian licensed in this state;] 
 [(b)] (a) Under the direction of a veterinarian licensed in this state who: 
  (1) Has established a valid veterinarian-client-patient relationship , as defined in NAC 
638.021, concerning the animal receiving the veterinary chiropractic before the veterinary 
chiropractic is performed; and 
  [(2) Has obtained a signed acknowledgment by the owner or another caretaker of the 
animal receiving the veterinary chiropractic that veterinary chiropractic is considered a 
nontraditional therapy and maintains the signed acknowledgment in the medical record required 
pursuant to NAC 638.037; 
 (c) If the veterinarian under whose direction the veterinary chiropractic is performed and the 
chiropractor] 
 (b) The chiropractor shall assume individual liability for the quality of the veterinary 
chiropractic performed; and 



--3-- 
Agency Draft of Adopted Temporary Regulation T043-01 

 [(d)] (c) If the fee for the veterinary chiropractic is paid to the veterinarian under whose 
direction the veterinary chiropractic is performed or the facility in which the veterinary 
chiropractic is performed and the fee is not paid in violation of NRS 638.1404. 
 [2.  The veterinarian who provided the written order to perform the veterinary chiropractic 
shall be on the premises and readily available during the veterinary chiropractic.] 
 [3.] 2. Each chiropractor who has been issued a certificate of registration shall maintain in this 
state for at least 4 years a separate written medical record of each animal receiving veterinary 
chiropractic. The chiropractor shall send a complete copy of the medical record to the 
veterinarian within 48 hours of the initial consultation. A progress report must also be mailed 
or faxed to the veterinarian within 48 hours on all subsequent visits. [who provided the written 
order to perform the veterinary chiropractic]. The veterinarian shall include the copy of the 
medical record received pursuant to this subsection in the medical record required pursuant to 
NAC 638.037. The written medical record must include, without limitation: 
 (a) The name, address and telephone number of the owner of the animal; 
 (b) The name or identifying number, or both, of the animal; 
 (c) The age, sex and breed of the animal; 
 (d) The dates of care, custody or treatment of the animal; 
 (e) The results of a basic physical examination related to musculoskeletal manipulation; 
 (f ) The diagnosis and treatment plan related to musculoskeletal manipulation recommended 
by the chiropractor for the animal; and 
 ( g ) The progress and disposition of the case. 
 
 NAC 638.840  Disciplinary action. (NRS 638.070) 
 1.  A violation of a provision of chapter 634 or 638 of NRS or a regulation adopted by the 
chiropractic physicians’ board of Nevada or the board is a ground for disciplinary action. 
 2.  If the board determines that an applicant for a certificate of registration pursuant to NAC 
638.810 or a person who has been issued a certificate of registration pursuant to NAC 638.810 
has committed any act which is a ground for disciplinary action, the board may: 
 (a) Refuse to issue a certificate of registration; 
 (b) Refuse to renew a certificate of registration; 
 (c) Revoke a certificate of registration; 
 (d) Suspend a certificate of registration for a definite period or until further order of the board; 
 (e) Impose a fine in an amount not to exceed $10,000 for each act that constitutes a ground for 
disciplinary action; 
 (f) Place a person who has been issued a certificate of registration on probation subject to any 
reasonable conditions imposed by the board, including, without limitation, requiring courses in 
continuing education or a periodic or continuous review of his veterinary chiropractic practice; 
 (g) Administer a public [or private] reprimand; 
 (h) Require the person who has been issued a certificate of registration to take a competency 
examination or a mental or physical examination; and 
 (i) Require the person who has been issued a certificate of registration to pay all costs, 
including, without limitation, attorney’s fees, incurred by the board in taking disciplinary action 
against him. 
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NOTICE OF ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY REGULATION T043-01 
 
 The Nevada State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners adopted language relating to 
veterinary chiropractic and supervision requirements. 
 
Notice Date:  4/13/2001 Date of Adoption by Agency:  5/15/2001 
Hearing Date:  5/15/2001 Filing Date:  5/18/01 
 
 

INFORMATIONAL STATEMENT 
 

The following statement is submitted for adopted amendments to NAC 638. 
 
1) A description of how public comment was solicited, a summary of public response, and 
an explanation of how other interested persons may obtain a copy of the summary. 
The proposed regulations were noticed with all Nevada County Public Libraries and at the office 
of the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.  Minutes of the hearing and written 
comments can be obtained by calling the Nevada Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners at 
(7765) 688-1788, or writing to the Board at 4600 Kietzke Lane, Bldg. O, #265, Reno, Nevada, 
89502 
 
The number of persons who: May 15, 2001 
 a) Attended each hearing  5 
 b) Testified at each hearing:  4 
 c) Submitted to the agency written comments: 0 
 
2) A description of how comment was solicited from affected businesses, a summary of 
their response, and an explanation how other interested persons may obtain a copy of the 
summary.  Comments were solicited from affected businesses by the notices as outlined in #1, 
and by direct mail to interested persons that are on the Board’s mailing list. 
 
3) If the regulation was adopted without changing any part of the proposed regulation, a 
summary of reasons for adopting the regulation without change. 
The regulation was adopted at the public hearing on May 15, 2001 with no changes. 
 
4) The estimated effect of the adopted regulation on the business which it is to regulate on 
the public. 
There is not additional cost to the businesses regulated. 
 
6) A description of any regulation of other state or government agencies which the 
proposed regulation overlaps or duplicates. 
There are no state or government agency regulations which the proposed amendments duplicate. 
 
7) Does the regulation include provisions which are more stringent than a federal 
regulation which regulates the same activity? 
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No there are no regulations that are more stringent than any federal regulation which regulates 
the same activity. 
 
8) Does the regulation provide a new fee or increase an existing fee: 
There is no new fee or increase in existing fees. 


