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EMERGENCY REGULATION OF THE 
COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE 

 
LCB File No. E003-13 

 
(Effective for 120 days after August 2, 2013) 

 
EXPLANATION – Matter in blue bold italics is new; matter in brackets [ ] is material to be omitted. 

 
AUTHORITY: NRS 679B.130 and 233B.0613 and section 25 of Assembly Bill 425 of the 77th 
(2013) Legislative Session 
 
Section 1 The Nevada Administrative Code is hereby amended by adding thereto a new 

chapter to consist of the provisions set forth as sections 2 through 24, inclusive, of this 

regulation. 

 

Sec. 2.  As used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires: 

1.  “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Insurance. 

2. “Division” means the Division of Insurance of the Department of Business and 

Industry. 

3.  “Instructor” means the person who will be responsible for teaching the course 

material to the course participants.  The instructor may be, but is not required to be, 

the same person as the sponsor.  

4. “Sponsor” means the person seeking approval for a course of instruction pursuant to 

section 4 of this regulation. 

5.  “Unsuitable person” has the meaning ascribed to it in NAC 679B.039. 

 

Sec. 3.  The Commissioner may contract with a person outside the Division to perform 

all or part of the administrative duties of the precertification or certification programs, subject 

to the direction and approval of the Commissioner. 

 

PRECERTIFICATION EDUCATION 

 

Sec. 4.  In addition to the requirements of Sections 2 through 26, inclusive, of Assembly 

Bill 425 of the 77th (2013) Session of the Nevada Legislature, an applicant for a certificate to 
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act as an exchange enrollment facilitator shall complete, with a final grade of at least 70 

percent, a precertification course of instruction approved by the Commissioner.  The 

precertification course shall have been completed within the year immediately preceding the 

date of the application for the certificate. 

 

Sec. 5. 

1. A precertification course of instruction and the instructor for the precertification course 

shall be approved by the Division before the precertification course is offered to a 

prospective applicant for a certificate.  The sponsor of the precertification course shall 

submit to the Division: 

(a) An application for approval of the instructor, specifying his or her experience and 

qualifications; 

(b) An application for approval of the precertification course, including a detailed outline 

of the precertification course and a description of the scale to be used in grading the 

persons taking the precertification course; 

(c) A schedule of the times the precertification course is to be taught; and 

(d) A certification that the content of the precertification course complies with sections 4 

through 12, inclusive, of this regulation. 

2. The Division shall not approve a precertification course which: 

(a) Substantially involves techniques for taking the certification examination; 

(b) Is directed toward teaching techniques of selling, soliciting, or negotiating insurance, 

motivation or finding applicants for insurance; 

(c) Is substantially a course to teach clerical skills; or 

(d) Does not meet the requirements of sections 4 through 12, inclusive, of this regulation. 

3. No approved precertification course may have more than 8 hours of instruction in the 

classroom each day. 

 

Sec. 6. 

1. An instructor shall: 

(a) Have at least 5 years of relevant experience in the topic to be taught; or 
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(b) Be approved by the Nevada System of Higher Education to teach insurance within that 

System. 

2. No more than one-third of any precertification course approved by the Division may be 

taught by: 

(a) An instructor who does not satisfy the requirements of subsection 1; 

(b) Videotapes or audiotapes; or 

(c) Any other mechanical teaching aids. 

3. For the purposes of this section, “mechanical teaching aids” includes, but is not limited to, 

digital or electronic versions of mechanical methods of instruction such as slide show 

presentation software, video or audio recordings transmitted via the Internet, and other 

similar methods of communication. 

 

Sec. 7. 

1. A correspondence, extension or self-study precertification course may be approved by the 

Division if: 

(a) The precertification course satisfies all of the requirements of sections 4 through 12, 

inclusive, of this regulation; 

(b) The student has quick and easy access to the sponsor or instructor of the 

precertification course; and 

(c) The student shall pass a final examination at the end of the precertification course to 

receive credit and the examination is directly monitored by the sponsor, the instructor, 

or the sponsor’s or instructor’s representative. 

2. The Division shall determine the equivalent number of hours of instruction in the 

classroom allowed for each approved correspondence, extension or self-study 

precertification course. 

 

Sec. 8.   

1.   A precertification course shall consist of: 

(a) At least 5 hours of instruction in the classroom in the provisions of title 57 of NRS and 

the regulations adopted pursuant to those provisions, at least one-half of which shall 

cover the laws and regulations common to all lines of insurance; and  
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(b) At least 15 hours of instruction in the classroom covering: 

(1) Principles and concepts of insurance in general; 

(2) Basic principles and concepts of health insurance; 

(3) The contract for health insurance and provisions of the policy; 

(4) Health insurance offered by private companies; 

(5) Health insurance offered by a governmental entity; 

(6) Types of policies and coverage for health insurance; 

(7) Group insurance and plans of special insurance; 

(8) The ethical responsibilities of the exchange enrollment facilitator; and 

(9) Regulation by the government. 

2.   The Division shall determine pursuant to section 6 of this regulation if a correspondence, 

extension or self-study precertification course meets the requirements of paragraphs (a) 

and (b). 

 

Sec. 9. 

1. Each sponsor of a precertification course shall maintain a complete record of each person 

attending the precertification course.  The record shall: 

(a) Indicate each person’s attendance; 

(b) Indicate his or her final grade in the precertification course;  

(c) Be available for review by the Division upon request during normal business hours; 

and 

(d) Be retained by the sponsor for 4 years. 

2. Each sponsor of a precertification course shall submit quarterly to the Division for each 

precertification course offered, the sponsor of the precertification course, the date the 

precertification course was completed, and the name and grade of each person attending 

the precertification course.  If the precertification course is a self-study precertification 

course, the sponsor shall also submit the name and description of the precertification 

course. 

3. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 4, each sponsor of a precertification course 

shall give to each person who successfully completes the precertification course an 

original certificate of completion.  The certificate shall list the sponsor and instructor of 
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the precertification course, the grade obtained by the student in the precertification course, 

the location and times the precertification course was offered, and the fact that the 

precertification course was for an exchange enrollment facilitator.  An applicant for an 

exchange enrollment certification shall submit the certificate with his or her application 

for a certification. 

4. The sponsor of a precertification course may comply with the provisions of subsection 3 by 

providing to a person who successfully completes a precertification course an 

electronically generated certificate of completion, provided that the electronically 

generated certificate of completion cannot be altered in any way.  The sponsor of a 

precertification course that elects to issue an electronically generated certificate of 

completion shall upload the applicant’s course completion directly to the Division’s 

education database as soon as practicable. 

 

Sec. 10. 

1. If the sponsor, instructor or outline of a precertification course changes after approval has 

been granted, the new sponsor, instructor or outline of the precertification course shall be 

approved by the Division prior to the precertification course being offered again. 

2. A person designated by the Division may audit any approved precertification course to 

ensure that the precertification course, instructor or sponsor continues to meet the 

requirements of this regulation. 

3. If the sponsor, instructor or outline of the precertification course has changed and has not 

been reapproved, or if the sponsor or instructor is not following the approved outline of the 

precertification course, the Division may suspend its approval of that precertification 

course. 

4. If the sponsor or instructor has not taken appropriate action to correct the conditions that 

were the basis of the suspension within 30 days, the Division may terminate its approval of 

the precertification course. 

5. If the sponsor or instructor of an approved precertification course solicits from any person 

information on the content of the questions of the Division’s certification examination, the 

Division may suspend its approval of that instructor or sponsor for at least 1 year. 
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Sec. 11. 

1. The Commissioner shall refuse to certify, or shall suspend or revoke the certification of 

any person who knowingly submits to the Division a false or fraudulent certificate of 

completion of education. 

2. The Division shall terminate its approval of any sponsor or instructor who knowingly 

submits or issues a false or fraudulent: 

(a) Certificate of completion of education; 

(b) Outline or schedule for a precertification course; or 

(c) Application for approval as an instructor or sponsor. 

3. The Division shall not approve any sponsor or instructor who has had his or her approval 

terminated pursuant to this section for at least 1 year after the approval of the sponsor or 

instructor was terminated. 

4. The Commissioner may suspend or terminate the approval of any sponsor or instructor 

who the Commissioner has determined is an unsuitable person. 

 

Sec. 12. Every application, certificate or other form required to be filed with the Division 

pursuant to sections 4 through 12, inclusive, of this regulation shall be on a form furnished by 

the Division. 

 

CERTIFICATION OF EXCHANGE ENROLLMENT FACILITATORS 

 

Sec. 13. Pursuant to sections 9, 11 and 25 of Assembly Bill 425 of the 77th (2013) 

Session of the Nevada Legislature an applicant for a certification as an exchange enrollment 

facilitator must pass a written examination and pay an examination fee for the administration 

of the examination.  The examination fee: 

1. Is subject to the Division’s contractual agreement with the vendor providing the exam 

services; 

2. Is payable to the vendor providing the examination service; and 

3. May not exceed $100 US dollars for a single sitting. 
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Sec. 14. An applicant for a certification as an exchange enrollment facilitator shall 

attain an adjusted score of 80 or more points on the appropriate certification examination to 

pass the examination.  The examination shall have been successfully completed within the 

year immediately preceding the date of application for the certification. 

 

Sec. 15. 

1. An applicant for a certification as an exchange enrollment facilitator shall: 

(a) Submit with his or her application: 

(1) Two complete sets of fingerprints which the Commissioner may forward to the 

Central Repository for Nevada records of Criminal History for a search concerning 

him or her: 

(I) Conducted by the Federal Bureau of Investigation in its national criminal 

records; and 

(II) Of the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History; and 

(2) A cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Central Repository for 

Nevada Records of Criminal History for the applicable fees established by the 

Records and Technology Division of the Department of Public Safety. 

(b) Comply with the procedures for obtaining the information required in this subsection 

that are established by the Records and Technology Division of the Department of 

Public Safety and the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History in 

NRS 179A.075 through 179A.160, inclusive. 

2. The Commissioner may issue a certification as an exchange enrollment facilitator before 

the criminal background search of the applicant conducted pursuant to subsection 1 is 

completed if the applicant: 

(a) Indicates and certifies on his or her application for a certification as an exchange 

enrollment facilitator that he or she has no criminal history; and 

(b) Has complied with the procedures required pursuant to subsection 1. 

3. The Commissioner may contract with a person outside the Division to process the 

fingerprints submitted pursuant to subsection 1 so that the fingerprints may be 

electronically transmitted to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal 

History or another law enforcement agency. 
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DUTIES OF EXCHANGE ENROLLMENT FACILITATORS TO CLIENTS 

 

Sec. 16. As used in sections 16 through 24, inclusive, unless the context otherwise 

requires, the words and terms defined in sections 17 through 21, inclusive, have the meanings 

ascribed to them in those sections. 

 

Sec. 17. “Affiliate” means a person that controls, is controlled by, or is under common 

control with, an exchange enrollment facilitator or person appointed by the Exchange.  As 

used in this section, “appointment” has the meaning ascribed to it in section 2.5 of Assembly 

Bill 425 of the 77th (2013) Session of the Nevada Legislature, “control” has the meaning 

ascribed to it in NRS 692C.050, and “Exchange” has the meaning ascribed to it in section 4 of 

Assembly Bill 425 of the 77th (2013) Session of the Nevada Legislature. 

 

Sec. 18. “Client” means a natural person, corporation, association, partnership or other 

legal entity that is a named insured or seeks the services of an exchange enrollment facilitator 

to become an insured or receive a quotation. 

 

Sec. 19. “Compensation” means consideration in any form for the production of 

insurance received by an exchange enrollment facilitator from any source. 

 

Sec. 20. “Represents” means to act on behalf of or in conjunction with a client in 

relation to an insurance transaction or potential insurance transaction. 

 

Sec. 21. “Transaction” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 679A.130.  The term 

includes: 

1. Facilitating enrollment in or potential facilitation of enrollment in insurance. 

2. The giving of information concerning matters related to the procurement of insurance, 

including, without limitation, the nature and type of insurance policies, their coverage, 

terms, duration, premiums and premium payment arrangements. 
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Sec. 22. The duties imposed on an exchange enrollment facilitator in section 23: 

1. Apply to every exchange enrollment facilitator. 

2. Are in addition to and not in lieu of any other duty imposed on an exchange enrollment 

facilitator by the Nevada Insurance Code or the common law of agency as recognized in 

this state. 

 

Sec. 23. An exchange enrollment facilitator who represents a client in an insurance 

transaction: 

1. Shall not place his or her interest above the interest of the client. 

2. Shall, before or simultaneously with a client’s purchase of insurance, or the 

consummation of any other transaction that would entitle the exchange enrollment 

facilitator to compensation as a result of his or her representation of the client, disclose to 

the client: 

(a) That the exchange enrollment facilitator may receive compensation in some form as a 

result of his or her representation of the client in the transaction. 

(b) The name and identity of the source of the compensation and whether the exchange 

enrollment facilitator has any ownership interest in, or is under common control with, 

the person providing the compensation. 

(c) That the compensation received by the exchange enrollment facilitator may differ 

depending upon the product and insurer. 

(d) The identity of any other person that the exchange enrollment facilitator knows, or 

reasonably ought to know, will receive compensation for assisting the exchange 

enrollment facilitator in the insurance transaction. 

These disclosures shall be followed by a documented acknowledgment by the client and the 

exchange enrollment facilitator that clearly indicates the client’s understanding of the 

contents of the disclosure statement before or simultaneously with the consummation of the 

insurance transaction.  In the case of a transaction consummated over the telephone or by 

electronic means, the client’s understanding of the disclosure shall be documented by the 

exchange enrollment facilitator at the time of the transaction and followed by a documented 

acknowledgment by the client and exchange enrollment facilitator. 
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3. Shall, before a client’s purchase of insurance, disclose to the client all health benefit 

plans, contracts providing coverage for dental care and programs of public assistance for 

which the client has been determined to be eligible by means of an eligibility determination 

made by the Exchange.   

4. Shall, before a client’s purchase of insurance, disclose to the client that additional health 

benefit plans and contracts providing coverage for dental care may be available for 

purchase outside of the Exchange without an advance payment of the federal income tax 

credit for payment of eligible premiums. 

 

Sec. 24. A violation of any provision of section 23 is: 

1. An unfair method of competition or an unfair or deceptive act or practice in the business 

of insurance in violation of NRS 686A.020. 

2. A cause for disciplinary action pursuant to section 22 of Assembly Bill 425 of the 77th 

(2013) Session of the Nevada Legislature. 

 
 
 The Commissioner of Insurance has made a finding that an emergency affecting the 
health and safety of the public exists, and that the adoption of the above Emergency regulation is 
appropriate. 
 
 
July 29, 2013     SCOTT J. KIPPER 
       Commissioner of Insurance 
 
 
       ______/s/__________________________ 
       By: MICHAEL LYNCH 
       Deputy Commissioner of Insurance 
 
I, Governor Brian Sandoval, endorse Commissioner of Insurance Scott J. Kipper’s statement of 
emergency. 
 
 
July 31, 2013     ______/s/__________________________ 
       BRIAN SANDOVAL 
       Governor 
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STATE OF NEVADA 
DIVISION OF INSURANCE 

 
INFORMATIONAL STATEMENT 

PURSUANT TO NRS 233B.066(1)(g-k) and (2)1 
RE: EMERGENCY REGULATION 

 
July 26, 2013 

 
The following statement is submitted for the emergency regulation creating a new section of the 
Nevada Administrative Code covering the certification of exchange enrollment facilitators as 
required by Section 25 of Assembly Bill 425 of the 77th (2013) Session of the Nevada 
Legislature. 
 
1. NRS 233B.066(1)(g): The estimated economic effect of the regulation on the business 
which it is to regulate and on the public.  These must be stated separately, and in each case must 
include: 

(1) Both adverse and beneficial effects: 
(a) On Business: 

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 and the Health Care and 
Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, as amended, collectively known as the Affordable 
Care Act (ACA) mandates and/or permits States to create new categories of persons 
and/or entities such as Navigators, In-Person Assisters, and Certified Application 
Counselors, herein collectively referred to as exchange enrollment facilitators (EEF).  
These EEFs will assist individuals and small business owners in determining eligibility 
for various programs offered through the ACA and in enrolling individuals and small 
business owners in programs for which they are deemed eligible.   

The emergency regulation finalizes a certification framework for EEFs, ensures that they 
meet certain minimum competency and conduct standards and protects the interests of 
businesses which may retain the services of an EEF.   

(b) On the Public: 
 

As with businesses, the emergency regulation protects the interests of members of the 
public who may retain the services of an EEF by ensuring that the EEF meets certain 
minimum competency and conduct standards. 
 

(2) Both immediate and long-term effect: 
(a) On Business: 

 

                                                            
1 Pursuant to NRS 233B.066(2), the requirements of paragraphs (b) to (f), inclusive, of subsection 1 of NRS 
233B.066 do not apply to emergency regulations. 
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The emergency regulation permits interested individuals and entities to begin their 
education and training prior to the federally-mandated open enrollment period beginning 
October 1, 2013.  The Commissioner believes that proper education and training be 
undertaken by prospective EEF candidates with as much time as possible in advance of 
open enrollment such that businesses are not served by insufficiently trained EEFs.  It is 
the Commissioner’s intention to subsequently adopt a permanent regulation similar or 
identical to this emergency regulation through the rulemaking process, ensuring long-
term stability in the oversight of all EEFs. 

 
(b) On the Public: 

 
The emergency regulation permits interested individuals and entities to begin their 
education and training prior to the federally-mandated open enrollment period beginning 
October 1, 2013.  The Commissioner believes that proper education and training be 
undertaken by prospective EEF candidates with as much time as possible in advance of 
open enrollment such that the public is not served by insufficiently trained EEFs.  It is the 
Commissioner’s intention to subsequently adopt a permanent regulation similar or 
identical to this emergency regulation through the rulemaking process, ensuring long-
term stability in the oversight of all EEFs. 

 
2. NRS 233B.066(1)(h): The estimated cost to the agency for enforcement of the proposed 
regulation. 
 

The Division anticipates no significant marginal cost for the enforcement of this 
emergency regulation.  The Division currently enforces similar regulations for persons 
involved in the sale or administration of insurance.  There are approximately 117,000 
persons licensed in the sale or administration of insurance as of December 14, 2012; the 
Division anticipates a few hundred individuals will seek certification as an EEF.  If the 
Division’s estimates are correct, the population of certified EEFs will be less than 1% of 
the population of persons licensed in the sale or administration of insurance. So long as 
the incidence of misfeasance and malfeasance among the certified EEF population is 
similar to that among the licensed producer population, the expected increase will be 
statistically insignificant when compared to the existing regulatory cost. 

 
3. NRS 233B.066(1)(i): A description of any regulations of other state or government 
agencies which the proposed regulation overlaps or duplicates and a statement explaining why 
the duplication or overlapping is necessary.  If the regulation overlaps or duplicates a federal 
regulation, the name of the regulating federal agency: 
 

The emergency regulation overlaps, duplicates, or otherwise compliments a regulation or 
series of regulations issued by the federal Center for Consumer Information and 
Insurance Oversight (CCIIO) of the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), a 
division of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).  Section 1311(i) of the 
ACA, codified as 42 U.S.C. §18031(i), establishes the requirement that states create a 
navigator program.  42 U.S.C. §18031(i)(3) generally requires navigators to raise 
awareness of the availability of qualified health plans, distribute fair and impartial 
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information concerning enrollment in qualified health plans, Facilitate enrollment in 
qualified health plans, and provide referrals to any applicable office of health insurance 
consumer assistance.  42 U.S.C. §18031(i)(4-5) requires that navigators avoid conflicts of 
interest, provide information that is fair, accurate and impartial, and be “licensed if 
appropriate”.  On March 27, 2012 CCIIO/CMS issued final regulation CMS-9989-F 
which, in part, outlined the program standards for navigators; the standards were codified 
as 45 C.F.R §155.210.  45 C.F.R. §155.210(c)(1)(iii), detailing the entities and 
individuals eligible to be a navigator, stipulated that any prospective navigator “[m]eet 
any licensing, certification or other standards prescribed by the State or Exchange, if 
applicable”.  The preamble to CMS-9989-F, in interpreting the provisions of 45 C.F.R. 
§155.210(c)(2) went the additional step in determining that any licensing, certification or 
other standards prescribed by a State or Exchange cannot lead to the prospective 
navigator being licensed as a(n) agent/broker/producer of insurance.  The emergency 
regulation is necessary to fill in the gaps in 42 U.S.C. §18031 by CMS-9989-F deferring 
the licensure or certification of navigators to the state level. 
 

4. NAC 233B.066(1)(j): If the regulation includes provisions which are more stringent than 
a federal regulation which regulates the same activity, a summary of such provisions: 
 

Neither 42 U.S.C. §18031 nor 45 C.F.R. §155.210 require a state to license, certify or 
otherwise impose standards for navigator training or conduct. The Division has proposed, 
and the Governor and Legislature agreed through the passage and approval of AB 425 
(2013), that EEF personnel, including navigators, be properly educated and accountable 
in order to protect Nevada consumers, both individuals and businesses.   

  
5. NAC 233B.066(1)(k): If the regulation provides a new fee or increases an existing fee, 
the total annual amount the agency expects to collect and the manner in which the money will be 
used: 
 

The emergency regulation includes a fee for sitting the certification examination for an 
exchange enrollment facilitator.  The fee is to be paid directly to the Division’s 
contracted examination vendor as compensation for administering the examination and 
cannot exceed $100 US dollars per sitting.  Because the fee is paid directly to the 
contracted examination vendor the Division anticipates collecting no additional fee 
revenue resulting from the proposed emergency regulation.  The Silver State Health 
Insurance Exchange anticipates having approximately 200 exchange enrollment 
facilitators receiving grant funding, which results in the Division’s contract vendor 
realizing no more than $20,000 of fee revenue from the funded EEFs.  It is unknown how 
many people will seek an EEF certification without receiving grant funding from the 
Exchange. 

 


