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LCB File No. R038-05 
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EXPLANATION – Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [omitted material] is material to be omitted. 

 

AUTHORITY: §1, NRS 391.019, 391.021 and 391.032. 
 

A REGULATION relating to eduational personnel; revising provisions relating to the 
competency testing required of applicants for initial licensure; and providing other 
matters properly relating thereto. 

 

 Section 1.  NAC 391.036 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 391.036  1.  Except as otherwise provided in this section, NAC 391.0545, paragraph (b) of 

subsection 3 of NAC 391.233, paragraph (b) of subsection 6 of NAC 391.330, and subsection 5 

of NAC 391.363, an applicant who applies for an initial license must pass a competency test that 

has been approved by the Commission, at the level of competence specified by the Commission, 

in: 

 (a) Basic reading, writing and mathematics; 

 (b) The principles and methods of teaching; and 

 (c) The subject matter of the initial area of endorsement on the license or the area of 

endorsement necessary for the applicant’s area of assignment. 

 2.  The Superintendent of Public Instruction may exempt an applicant from any of the tests 

required by subsection 1 if the applicant: 

 (a) [Has] Submits to the Department evidence that he: 

  (1) Has retired from teaching in this State; 
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 [(b)] (2) Held a special license or a license to teach elementary or secondary education 

which: 

  [(1)] (I) Has expired within the 3 years immediately preceding the date on which his 

application was submitted; 

  [(2)] (II) Was free from any conditions that the applicant pass a competency test; and 

  [(3)] (III) Authorized the applicant to teach in the same grade level and subject area for 

which he is applying to receive an initial license; 

 [(c)] (3) Was required, for the issuance of his expired license, to complete courses of study 

and experience which are substantially equivalent to the courses of study and experience 

required for the issuance of an initial license; and 

 [(d)] (4) Otherwise satisfies the requirements for the issuance of an initial license [.] ; or 

 (b) Submits to the Department evidence that he has passed, as part of a teacher education 

program approved by a state and offered through a regionally accredited college or university, 

competency examinations equivalent to those required of the applicant by subsection 1. 

 3.  An applicant is exempt from the requirement to pass a competency test in basic reading, 

writing and mathematics if he submits to the Department: 

 (a) Official documentation which indicates that he passed, at the level of competency 

specified by the Commission: 

  (1) The “Pre-Professional Skills Tests” in reading, mathematics and writing, prepared and 

administered by the Educational Testing Service; or 

  (2) The “California Basic Educational Skills Test,” prepared and administered by the 

California Commission on Teacher Credentialing; 
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 (b) Evidence that he holds a license to teach that was issued by another state and has 

completed 3 years of full-time teaching within the immediately preceding 5 years in the subject 

area for which he is applying to receive an initial license in this State; 

 (c) Evidence that he: 

  (1) Holds a license to teach which was issued by another state; 

  (2) Has at least 1 year of experience in teaching, administrating or providing other 

educational functions, or any combination thereof, on a full-time basis at any grade level in 

prekindergarten through grade 12; and 

  (3) Has passed, at the level of competency required for licensure by the state in which his 

license was issued: 

   (I) The “Pre-Professional Skills Tests” in reading, mathematics and writing, prepared 

and administered by the Educational Testing Service; 

   (II) An equivalent examination in basic reading, mathematics and writing, prepared and 

administered by National Evaluation Systems, Inc.; or 

   (III) An equivalent examination in basic reading, mathematics and writing, prepared 

and administered by the state in which his license was issued; 

 (d) Evidence that he has received a master’s or more advanced degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university, the receipt of which required the passage of the “Graduate 

Record Examinations,” prepared and administered by the Educational Testing Service, or its 

equivalent; 

 (e) An official transcript which indicates that he achieved at least a 3.0 grade-point average in 

his undergraduate studies and evidence that he has taken the “Graduate Record Examinations,” 

prepared and administered by the Educational Testing Service, and received a score of at least 
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420 on the verbal portion of the examination, 460 on the quantitative portion of the examination 

and [430] 3.5 on the analytical writing portion of the examination; or 

 (f) Evidence that he completed, with a grade of B or better, a course of study in a subject area 

approved by the Commission or the Director of Licensure for the Department. 

 4.  An applicant is exempt from the requirement to pass a competency test in the principles 

and methods of teaching if he: 

 (a) Submits to the Department official documentation which indicates that he passed, at the 

level of competency specified by the Commission, the “Professional Knowledge Test,” prepared 

and administered by the Educational Testing Service; 

 (b) Submits to the Department evidence that he holds a license that was issued by another 

state and has completed 3 years of full-time teaching within the immediately preceding 5 years in 

the subject area for which he is applying to receive an initial license in this State; 

 (c) Submits to the Department evidence that he: 

  (1) Holds a license to teach which was issued by another state; 

  (2) Has at least 1 year of experience in teaching, administrating or providing other 

educational functions, or any combination thereof, on a full-time basis at any grade level in 

prekindergarten through grade 12; and 

  (3) Has passed, at the level of competency required for licensure by the state in which his 

license was issued: 

   (I) The “Professional Knowledge Test,” prepared and administered by the Educational 

Testing Service; 

   (II) An equivalent examination prepared and administered by National Evaluation 

Systems, Inc.; or 
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   (III) An equivalent examination prepared and administered by the state in which his 

license was issued; 

 (d) Is applying for a license with an endorsement in an area for which training in the 

principles and methods of teaching is not required; 

 (e) Is applying for an elementary endorsement and submits to the Department evidence that 

he passed, at the level of competency specified by the Commission, the “Elementary Education: 

Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment Test” and the “Elementary Education: Content Area 

Exercises Test,” both prepared and administered by the Educational Testing Service; or 

 (f) Is applying for a special license to teach pupils from birth through kindergarten pursuant 

to NAC 391.088. 

 5.  An applicant is exempt from the requirement to pass a competency test in the subject 

matter of endorsement if he: 

 (a) Submits to the Department official documentation which indicates that he previously 

passed, at the level of competency specified by the Commission, the competency test in that 

subject matter; 

 (b) Is applying for an initial license with an endorsement in an area for which no competency 

tests have been approved by the Commission; 

 (c) Is applying for an endorsement to teach pupils who have speech and language 

impairments and submits to the Department official documentation which indicates that he has 

received a certificate of clinical competence from the American Speech-Language-Hearing 

Association; 

 (d) Is applying for an endorsement in home economics and submits to the Department official 

documentation which indicates that he satisfactorily completed the “National Family and 
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Consumer Sciences Certification Examination,” prepared and administered by the American 

Association of Family and Consumer Sciences; or 

 (e) Submits to the Department evidence that he: 

  (1) Holds a license to teach which was issued by another state; 

  (2) Has at least 1 year of experience in teaching, administrating or providing other 

educational functions, or any combination thereof, on a full-time basis at any grade level in 

prekindergarten through grade 12; and 

  (3) Has passed, at the level of competency required for licensure by the state in which his 

license was issued: 

   (I) A competency test in the subject matter of endorsement that was prepared and 

administered by the Educational Testing Service or National Evaluation Systems, Inc.; or 

   (II) An equivalent examination prepared and administered by the state in which his 

license was issued. 

 6.  If a competency test in a subject matter has been reviewed by the Commission for less 

than 1 year but is not yet approved, an applicant must take the test, but is not required to pass the 

test at a level of competence specified by the Commission. 

 7.  An applicant who fails to comply with the provisions of this section may not apply for a 

renewable license. 

 8.  The tests required by subsection 1 will be administered three times each year at locations 

and times established by the Commission. 


