ADOPTED REGULATION OF THE COMMISSION ON
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS IN EDUCATION
LCB File No. R092-97

Effective January 14, 1998

EXPLANATION - Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [ ] is material to be omitted.

AUTHORITY: §§ 1-10, NRS 391.019.

Section 1. NAC 391.030 is hereby amended to read as follows:
391.030 1. As a qualification for becoming a licensed employee of a school district, a
person must:
(a) Complete courses covering:
(1) Title 34 of NRS ; [(Education);]
(2) The constitution of the State of Nevada; and
(3) The Constitution of the United States; or
(b) Hold a license which is not renewable and allows him [1 year plus any additional time
provided by an extension] 3 years to:
(1) Take courses on those subjects from an accredited university or college; or
(2) Pass an examination developed by the department in those subjects, by achieving the
passing score set by the commission.
2. The staff of the department or representatives appointed by the department will

administer an examination in those subjects in November and May in each school year.

-1--
Adopted Regulation R092-97



[3. If the holder of a license which allows him 1 year plus any additional time provided by
an extension to take the courses or pass the examination fails to do either within the prescribed
time, his license is invalidated.]

Sec. 2. NAC 391.036 is hereby amended to read as follows:

391.036 1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, an applicant who applies for an
initial license must pass a competency test that has been approved by the commission, at the
level of competence specified by the commission, in:

(a) Basic reading, writing and mathematics;

(b) Principles and methods of teaching; and

(c) The subject matter of the initial area of endorsement on the license or the area of
endorsement necessary for the applicant’s area of assignment at the time of testing.

2. The superintendent of public instruction may exempt an applicant from any of the tests
required by subsection 1 if the applicant:

(a) Has retired from teaching in this state;

(b) Held a special license, or a license to teach elementary or secondary education which:

(1) Has expired within the 3 years immediately preceding the date on which his
application was submitted;

(2) Was free from any conditions that the applicant pass a competency test; and

(3) Authorized the applicant to teach in the same grade level and subject area for which

he is applying to receive an initial license;
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(c) Was required, for the issuance of his expired license, to complete courses of study and
experience which are substantially equivalent to the courses of study and experience required
for the issuance of an initial license; and

(d) Otherwise satisfies the requirements for the issuance of an initial license.

3. An applicant is exempt from the requirement to pass a competency test in basic reading,
writing and mathematics if he submits to the department:

(a) Official documentation which indicates that he passed, at the level of competency
specified by the commission:

(1) “The Pre-Professional Skills Tests” in reading, mathematics and writing, prepared
and administered by the Educational Testing Service; or

(2) “The State Basic Skills Proficiency Test,” prepared and administered by the
California Commission on Teacher Credentialing;

(b) Evidence that he holds a license to teach that was issued by another state and has
completed 3 years of full-time teaching within the immediately preceding 5 years in the subject
area for which he is applying to receive an initial license in this state;

(c) Evidence that he has received a master’s or more advanced degree from a regionally
accredited college or university, the receipt of which required the passage of “The General
Records Examination,” prepared and administered by the Educational Testing Service, or its
equivalent;

(d) An official transcript which indicates that he achieved at least a 3.0 grade-point average
in his undergraduate studies and evidence that he has taken “The General Records

Examination,” prepared and administered by the Educational Testing Service, and received a
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score of at least 420 on the verbal portion of the examination, 460 on the quantitative portion
of the examination and 430 on the analytical portion of the examination; or

(e) Evidence that he completed, with a grade of B or better, a course of study in a subject
area approved by the commission or the director of licensure for the department.

4. An applicant is exempt from the requirement to pass a competency test in principles and
methods of teaching if he:

(a) Submits to the department official documentation which indicates that he passed, at the
level of competency specified by the commission, “The Professional Knowledge Test,”
prepared and administered by the Educational Testing Service;

(b) Submits to the department evidence that he holds a license that was issued by another
state and has completed 3 years of full-time teaching within the immediately preceding 5 years
in the subject area for which he is applying to receive an initial license in this state;

(c) Is applying for a license with an endorsement in an area for which training in the
principles and methods of teaching is not required; or

(d) Is applying for an elementary endorsement and submits to the department evidence that
he passed, at the level of competency specified by the commission, “The Elementary
Education: Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment Test” and “The Elementary Education:
Content Area Exercises Test,” both prepared and administered by the Educational Testing
Service.

5. An applicant is exempt from the requirement to pass a competency test in the subject

matter of endorsement if he:
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(a) Submits to the department official documentation which indicates that he previously
passed, at the level of competency specified by the commission, the competency test in that
subject matter;

(b) Is applying for an initial license with an endorsement in an area for which no
competency tests have been approved by the commission;

(c) Is applying for an endorsement to teach pupils who have speech and language
impairments and submits to the department official documentation which indicates that he has
received a certificate of clinical competence from the American Speech and Hearing
Association; or

(d) Is applying for an endorsement in home economics and submits to the department
official documentation which indicates that he satisfactorily completed “The National Family
and Consumer Sciences Examination,” prepared and administered by the American Association
of Family and Consumer Sciences.

6. If a competency test in a subject matter has been reviewed by the commission for less
than 1 year but is not yet approved, an applicant must take the test, but is not required to pass
the test at a level of competence specified by the commission.

7. [Each applicant must] An applicant who fails to comply with the provisions of this
section [within 2 years after commencing employment as a teacher. The applicant must
demonstrate to the department the date on which he commenced such employment. If the
applicant fails to demonstrate the date on which he commenced employment, the period for
complying with the provisions of this section expires 2 years after the date he was issued his

initial] may not apply for a renewable license.
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8. The tests required by subsection 1 will be administered three times each year at
locations and times established by the commission.

Sec. 3. NAC 391.045 is hereby amended to read as follows:

391.045 1. An applicant for the initial issuance of a [certificate] license as a teacher or
other educational employee must submit with his application:

(a) His official transcripts;

(b) A negative report of an X-ray film of his chest or a tuberculin test completed within the
preceding 12 months; and

(c) A fee of $46, plus the amount charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the
Nevada highway patrol division of the department of motor vehicles and public safety for their
reports on the applicant’s fingerprints. [This] 7he fee does not include the cost of any
examination required by NAC 391.036.

2. If [it is determined that] the applicant is not eligible for [certification, his records will
be returned to his last known mailing address. The] licensure, the fee will not be returned. The
applicant must pay another fee if he applies again.

3. An applicant for an endorsement to an existing [certificate] license or for an additional
[certificate] license must submit with his application:

(a) Current official transcripts; and

(b) A fee of $40.

4. The academic credits required to obtain initial licensing or an endorsement to an
existing license are not satisfiable by the completion of courses offered by a provider of

continuing education but [such] 7hose courses may be used for the renewal of a license.
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Sec. 4. NAC 391.054 is hereby amended to read as follows:

391.054 1. [The] Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the superintendent of
public instruction may issue a license with a special education endorsement to a person who is
licensed and endorsed to teach special education in any other state and may issue a license with
any other endorsement to a person who is licensed or certified in a state that has entered into
an interstate certification contract with the State of Nevada through the National Association of
State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification if:

(a) The applicant holds a [current] license or certificate issued by the other state;

(b) The applicant holds a bachelor’s degree from an institution accredited by a regional
accrediting association and has completed any postbaccalaureate studies required in [Nevada]
this state for the issuance of a license;

(c) The license or certificate issued by the other state is not:

(1) A temporary permit, an emergency, alternative or conditional license or a credential
to teach multiple subjects;

(2) A license or certificate for which completion of a bachelor’s or higher degree is
unnecessary;

(3) A license or certificate for which completion of professional education course work
through a college or university accredited by a regional accrediting association is unnecessary;
or

(4) A letter or other form of authorization from another state or a county, city, school
district or department of education in another state which entitles the person to teach in the

same capacity as a licensed teacher on a temporary basis;
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(d) The grade levels and subject areas covered by the license or certificate issued by the
other state are the same as the grade levels and subject areas for which the applicant is seeking
licensure in [Nevada;] this state; and

(e) The applicant, if he is an applicant for a license with an endorsement in a subject other
than special education, has satisfactorily taught in the other state, in an assignment similar to
the assignment for which licensure is sought in [Nevada,] zhis state, during at least 3 out of the
5 years immediately preceding the application for licensure in Nevada.

2. [A license issued pursuant to this section expires and may be renewed in accordance
with the provisions of NAC 391.060 to 391.075, inclusive.

3. A person who receives a license pursuant to this section must complete the competency
testing requirements specified in NAC 391.036 within 2 years after commencing employment
as a teacher in this state and the course work or examination requirements specified in NAC
391.030 within 1 year after the date of issuance of the license.] If the applicant has not
complied with the requirements of NAC 391.030 or 391.036 at the time he applies for a license
pursuant to this section, the superintendent of public instruction may only issue a provisional
license to the applicant. The provisional license is not renewable.

Sec. 5. NAC 391.055 is hereby amended to read as follows:

391.055 1. The superintendent of public instruction may issue a provisional [:

(a) One-year] I-year license or endorsement to [an applicant] a person who holds a
renewable license issued in this state if he otherwise meets the requirements for licensure, but:

[(1)] (a) Has a deficiency in credits of 6 semester hours or less;
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[(2)] (b) Is a teacher, licensed and practicing in [Nevada,] this state applying for an
additional license, other than for the teaching of handicapped pupils, outside his grade level of
experience as a student teacher;

[(3) Has not completed the courses or passed the examination required by NAC 391.030;

4)] or

(c) Lacks confirmation from a college that he has [student teaching experience if applying
for a teaching license, or that he has completed a school counseling practicum or internship if
applying for a school counseling endorsement, but:

(I) Has 3 years of verified experience in teaching or in school counseling that
occurred in another state; and

(IT) Meets the conditions set forth in subsection 3 of NAC 391.025; or

(5) Lacks confirmation from a college that he has] completed a school counseling
practicum or internship if applying for a school counseling endorsement, but:

[(D] (1) Has completed all the [necessary] required course work [requirements] for
the school counseling endorsement;

[(ID)] (2) Has completed 200 hours of the practicum or internship through a regionally
accredited college or university, to include a minimum of 100 hours in a school setting at the
time of application for licensure; and

[(IID)] (3) Is currently and continuously enrolled in a regionally accredited college or
university school counseling practicum or internship program.

[(b) Two-year license to an applicant if he otherwise meets the requirements for licensure,

but:
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(1) Has not passed the tests required by NAC 391.036; and

(2) Is not exempt pursuant to subsection 2, 3, 4 or 5 of NAC 391.036 from taking the
tests.
The superintendent of public instruction may extend a provisional 1-year license pursuant to
NAC 391.077. A provisional 2-year license becomes invalid 2 years after the date on which
the employee is employed by a school district or a private licensed school in this state and may
not be extended, except as otherwise provided in NAC 391.077.]

2. The board of trustees of the public school or the operator of the private licensed school
that is to employ the holder of a provisional 1-year license, who is [already] a teacher, licensed
and practicing in [Nevada,] rhis state, but who lacks student teaching experience at the proper
grade level, must agree in writing:

(a) To specify the process to be used for evaluating the holder of the provisional license
during the 1-year period.

(b) To submit documentation to the superintendent of public instruction indicating whether
the holder of the provisional license is eligible for reemployment at the conclusion of the first
year of teaching.

3. If the holder of a provisional license, who is [already] a teacher, licensed and practicing
in [Nevada,] rhis state, but who lacks student teaching experience at the proper grade level, is
rated as eligible for reemployment by his employer, and all other requirements for the
additional license or endorsement have been met, the superintendent of public instruction shall
mail a letter of notification fo the holder of the license indicating that the requirement for

student teaching has been fulfilled . [to the holder of the license.] Experience as a teacher’s
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aide, teacher’s assistant, unlicensed instructor of pupils in a junior reserve officers’ training
corps program or substitute teacher does not meet the requirement for teaching experience or
student teaching.

4. Any credits earned by the holder of a provisional license or endorsement to qualify for
a full license will not be counted as credits [needed] required to renew a license.

Sec. 6. NAC 391.060 is hereby amended to read as follows:

391.060 1. Upon application, the department will issue a license for the specified
number of years to a person with:

(a) A bachelor’s degree or less, for 5 years.

(b) A master’s degree and 3 years of verified teaching experience, for 6 years.

(c) A specialist’s degree and 3 years of verified teaching experience, for 8 years.

(d) A doctoral degree and 3 years of verified teaching experience, for 10 years.

[Any such] A4 license specified in this subsection is renewable.

2. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3 [of this section] and NAC 391.057, a
license expires on the holder’s date of birth in the year of expiration.

3. A provisional license that is renewable becomes invalid on the date of expiration of the
provision. If the holder of [a provisional] such a license provides evidence to the department of
his completion of the course work required to satisfy the provision, the department will remove
the provision and the license remains valid until the date of expiration of the license.

4. An endorsement becomes invalid on the date that the license to which it is attached
expires.

Sec. 7. NAC 391.110 is hereby amended to read as follows:
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391.110 1. To receive an endorsement as a substitute elementary teacher, a person must
[have completed] complete at least 62 semester hours of credit from an accredited college or
university, including at least 6 semester hours of credit in elementary education.

2. A school district may hire a substitute elementary teacher for:

(a) [Unlimited] An unlimited number of days of service if filling the position of a licensed
teacher who is under contract.

(b) [Sixty] Not more than 60 days of service if filling a teaching position for which a
licensed teacher has not been hired under contract, except that the department may grant the
school district one extension for 30 days in an exceptional case upon request from the
superintendent of schools of the county school district or from the administrator of the
state-approved private school.

3. If a person has not complied with the requirements of NAC 391.030 and 391.036 at the
time he applies for an endorsement as a substitute elementary teacher, the superintendent of
public instruction may only issue a provisional endorsement to the person. The provisional
endorsement is not renewable.

Sec. 8. NAC 391.140 is hereby amended to read as follows:

391.140 1. To receive an endorsement as a substitute secondary teacher, a person must
[have completed] -

(a) Complete at least 62 semester hours of credit from an accredited college or university,
including at least six semester credits in secondary education [. Provisional licensing is not
authorized.] ; or

(b) Comply with the requirements for a business and industry endorsement.
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2. A school district may hire a substitute secondary teacher for:

(a) [Unlimited] An unlimited number of days of service if filling the position of a licensed
teacher who is under contract.

(b) [Sixty] Not more than 60 days of service if filling a teaching position for which a
licensed teacher has not been hired under contract, except that the department may grant the
school district one extension for 30 days in an exceptional case upon request from the
superintendent of schools of the county school district or the administrator of a state-approved
private school.

3. If a person has not complied with the requirements of NAC 391.030 and paragraph (a)
of subsection 1 of NAC 391.036 at the time he applies for an endorsement as a substitute
secondary teacher, the superintendent of public instruction may only issue a provisional
endorsement to the person. The provisional endorsement is not renewable.

Sec. 9. NAC 391.330 is hereby amended to read as follows:

391.330 1. To receive an endorsement as an emergency substitute teacher, a person must
[have earned] earn a high school diploma or its equivalent. [In addition, the person must
submit proof of his compliance with the provisions of NRS 391.090 not later than 2 years after
the endorsement is issued.]

2. An endorsement as an emergency substitute teacher:

(a) Is valid for 3 years after the date of issuance; and

(b) Is not renewable unless, at the time the person applies for the endorsement, he has

complied with the requirements of NRS 391.090.
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3. A school district whose enrollment is less than 9,000 pupils may, in an emergency, hire
an emergency substitute teacher to serve as a teacher in kindergarten through grade 12, as
needed. [In no event may a] A person so employed may not serve as a teacher in one classroom
for more than 5 days in any 20-day period. Except in an emergency, a school district shall not
allow a person solely holding an endorsement as an emergency substitute teacher to serve as a
teacher.

[3.]1 4. An applicant for an endorsement as an emergency substitute teacher is exempt from
the provisions of:

(a) NAC 391.030 in its entirety regarding the subject of Title 34 of NRS [(Education)] and,
to the extent that it conflicts with subsection 1 of this section, regarding compliance with NRS
391.090 on the subjects of the federal and state constitutions;

(b) NAC 391.036; and

(c) NAC 391.065.

[4.]15. Asused in subsection [2,] 3, “in an emergency” means [when] the occurrence of
an unforeseen circumstance [exists] which requires immediate action [and includes the
circumstance when] , including any period during which a licensed teacher or substitute teacher

is not immediately available.

Sec. 10. NAC 391.053 and 391.142 are hereby repealed.
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TEXT OF REPEALED SECTIONS

391.053 Licensure of person licensed or certified in another state: Nonrenewable
license.

1. The superintendent of public instruction may issue a license for 3 years to a person who
is licensed or certified in another state and who is applying for licensure in Nevada if the
applicant has:

(a) A license or certificate that is current in the issuing state at the time he makes
application for a license in Nevada; and

(b) A bachelor’s degree from an institution accredited by a regional accrediting association.
A license issued pursuant to this subsection is not renewable. A temporary permit or an
emergency license or certificate that does not require a bachelor’s degree and is issued by a
state, county, city or a school district, or a document such as an approval letter or entitlement
card from an institution for the training of teachers, a state department of education, a state,

county, city or a school district does not meet the requirements of this subsection.
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2. The license or certificate and the area of endorsement from the issuing state must be at
the same grade level and in a subject area approved by the commission pursuant to the
provisions of this chapter.

3. An endorsement in an area that requires a master’s degree in Nevada will be issued
only to an applicant who has a master’s degree from an institution accredited by a regional
accrediting association.

4. The superintendent of public instruction may issue an appropriate renewable license to
the holder of a license issued pursuant to subsection 1 after the holder completes the
requirements for the endorsement.

391.142 Endorsement as substitute secondary teacher of occupational education:
Qualifications; authorized activities of holder; renewal.

1. The superintendent of public instruction shall issue an endorsement as a substitute
secondary teacher of occupational education to an applicant who:

(a) Has completed 62 semester hours of credit from an accredited college or university in
the area of occupational education; or

(b) Has met the requirements of NAC 391.140 for an endorsement as a substitute secondary
teacher.

2. A person who holds an endorsement as a substitute secondary teacher of occupational
education may provide instruction, on a temporary basis, to pupils who have been admitted to

kindergarten or a higher class, pursuant to the provisions of subsection 3 of NAC 391.110.
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3. A person who holds an endorsement as a substitute secondary teacher of occupational
education may renew his endorsement by submitting an application and the appropriate fee to
the department.

4. A provisional endorsement as a substitute secondary teacher of occupational education

may not be issued.
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