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LCB File No. R071-02 
 

PROPOSED REGULATION OF THE 
STATE BOARD OF ORIENTAL MEDICINE 

 
NOTICE OF INTENT TO ACT UPON A REGULATION 

 
NOTICE OF PUBLIC WORKSHOP AND HEARING FOR THE ADOPTION, 

AMENDMENT AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS OF THE 
STATE BOARD OF ORIENTAL MEDICINE. 

 
The State of Nevada Board of Oriental Medicine (hereinafter the “Board”) will hold a public 
hearing on June 1, 2002 at 9:00 A.M., at the GRANT SAWYER STATE BUILDING, 555 E. 
WASHINGTON AVE., ROOM 4401, LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89104.   The purpose of the 
hearing is to receive comments from ALL interested persons regarding the adoption, amendment 
and repeal of regulations that pertain to chapter 634A of the Nevada Administrative Code 
(“NAC”). 
 

Las Vegas, Nevada 
 

JUNE 1, 2002 
9:00 A.M. 

GRANT SAWYER STATE BUILDING 
555 E. WASHINGTON AVENUE, ROOM 4401. 

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89101 
 

 
The following information is provided pursuant to the requirements of NRS 233B.060: 
 

Information Regarding Adoption 
 
Upon adoption of any regulation, the agency, if requested to do so by an interested person, either 
prior to adoption or within 30 days thereafter, shall issue a concise statement of the principal 
reasons for and against its adoption, and incorporate therein its reasons for overruling the 
consideration urged against its adoption. 
 

Information About Proposed Regulations 
 
1.  Purpose and need of the proposed regulations.  The Board, is a State professional licensing 
Board, which administers and regulates licenses, education and compliance of said licenses 
under NRS 634A.  The purpose of the regulations is to define and clarify the rights and 
responsibilities of persons licensed under this chapter. 
 
2.  Terms of the proposed regulations.  The regulations to be adopted are stated as follows this 
notice. 
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3.  Estimated Economic Effect.  New costs that licensees and applicants will incur.   
 
4.  Estimated costs to the Board.  The Board will incur costs of production of statute and 
regulation handbooks.  Also, increased hours for the board’s executive director to handle 
additional procedures created by proposed regulations. 
 
5.  Duplication with other Agencies.  None known at this time, however, many of the proposed 
regulations have incorporated language from statutes from the following professional licensing 
boards:  Homeopathic board, Chiropractic Board, Board of Medical Examiners, and the Physical 
Therapy Board. 
 
6.  Federal Law. None known at this time. 
 
7.  New Fee(s) Established.  Application fee of $400.00; initial background fees of $300.00; 
License renewal fee reduced from $500.00 to $400.00; late renewal fee(s) within 90 days of Feb 
1 - $50.00, after 90 days of Feb. 1 – $100.00; original application for use of fictitious name 
$50.00; lost ID card replacement fee $20.00; Replacement fee for lost certificate $40.00; 
Original fee for board practical exam $_____;  Re-examination fee $300.00; license inactivation 
fee $50.00; continuing education provider fee $100.00; temporary certificate for lecturing 
purposes $100.00; return check/insufficient fund fee $25.00; copies of statutes and regulations 
(booklet) $10.00; copy fee 25 cents per page. 
 Please note some of the aforementioned fines have not changed from what they are 
currently.  Instead, they have just been placed in a list of fees for convenience. 
 

Comments and Written Submissions 
 
Persons wishing to comment on the proposed action of the Board may appear at the scheduled 
public hearing or may address their comments, data, views or arguments, in written form to: 
 

The State of Nevada, Board of Oriental Medicine 
4475 South Pecos Road 

Las Vegas, Nevada  89121 
Attn: Executive Director, Kimberly A. Reese 

 
Written submissions must be received by the Board by MAY 16, 2002. If no person who is 
directly affected by the proposed action appears to request time to make an oral presentation, the 
Division may proceed immediately to act upon any written submissions. 
 

Copies of the Proposed Regulations 
 
A copy of this notice and the proposed regulations will be on file at the State library, 100 Stewart 
Street, Carson City, Nevada, for inspection by members of the public during business hours.  
Additional copies of the notice and the proposed regulation will be available at the Board’s 
principal office: 
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The State of Nevada, Board of Oriental Medicine 
4475 South Pecos Road 

Las Vegas, Nevada  89121 
 
And in all counties in which an office of the Board is not maintained, at the main public library, 
for inspection and copying by members of the public during business hours.  The text of each 
regulation will include the entire text of any section of the Nevada Administrative Code, which is 
proposed for amendment of repeal.  Copies will also be mailed to members of the public upon 
request.  A reasonable fee may be charged for copies if it is deemed necessary. 
 
Upon adoption of any regulation, the agency, if requested to do so by an interested person, either 
before adoption of within 30 days thereafter, will issue a concise statement of the principal 
reasons for an against its adoption and incorporate therein its reason for overruling the 
consideration urged against its adoption. 
 

Posting 
 
This notice of hearing and attached proposed regulations have been posted at the following 
locations: 
 
Carson City Library Churchill County Library 
900 North Roop Street 553 South Maine Street 
Carson City, NV 89701 Fallon, NV 89406 
Ph# 775-887-2244 Ph# 775-423-7581 
Fax # 775-887-2273 Fax # 775-423-7766 
 
Clark County/LV Library Douglas County Library 
833 Las Vegas Blvd., North 1625 Library Lane, POB 337 
Las Vegas, NV 89101 Minden, NV 89423 
Ph# 702-733-7810 Ph# 775-782-9841 
Fax# 702-733-1567 Fax# 775-782-6766 
 
Elko County Library Goldfield Public Library/Esmeralda Co. 
720 Court Street Fourth & Crook St./POB 40 
Elko, NV 89801 Goldfield, NV 89013 
Ph# 775-738-3066 Ph# 775-485-3236 
Fax# 775-738-8262 Fax# 775-485-3236 
 
Eureka Branch Library Humboldt County Library 
10190 Monroe Street/POB 293 85 East 5th Street 
Eureka, NV 89316 Winnemucca, NV 89445 
Ph# 775-237-5307 Ph# 775-623-6388 
Fax# 775-237-5707 Fax# 775-623-6438 
 
Battle Mountain Branch Library Lincoln County Library 
(Lander County) 93 Main Street 
625 Broad Street/PO Box 161 POBox 330 
Battle Mountain NV 89820 Pioche  NV  89043 
Ph#  775-635-2534 Ph# 775-962-5244 
Fax # 775-635-5520 Fax # 775-962-5244 
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Lyon County Library Mineral County Library 
20 Nevin Way First & A Street/PO Box 1390 
Yerington, NV 89447 Hawthorne, NV  89415 
Ph# 775-463-6645 Ph# 775-945-2778 
Fax # 775-463-6500 Fax # 775-945-0703 
 
Tonopah Public Library Pershing County Library 
(Nye County) 1125 Central Avenue 
171 Central Street/PO Box 449 PO Box 781 
Tonopah, NV 89049 Lovelock, NV 89419 
Ph# 775-482-3374 Ph# 775-273-2216 
Fax#775-482-5143 Fax # 775-273-7058 
 
Storey County Library Washoe County Library 
95 South R Street 301 South Center Street 
PO Box 14 PO Box 2151 
Virginia City, NV 89440 Reno, NV  89505 
Ph# 775-847-0956 Ph# 775-785-4742 
Fax # 775-847-0949 Fax # 775-785-4609 
 
White Pine County Library Nevada State Library & Archives 
950 Campton Street Capitol Complex 
Ely, NV 89301 Carson City, NV 89710 
Ph# 775-289-3737 Ph# 775-684-3360 
Fax # 775-289-1555 Fax # 775-684-3330 
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PROPOSED REGULATION OF THE 
STATE BOARD OF ORIENTAL MEDICINE 

 
Authority:  NRS 634A.070(3) 

 
NOTE:  Matter italicized is new; matter in brackets [ ] is material to be repealed or omitted.   
 
 
Section 1.  Chapter 634A of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto section(s) 2-20 of 
these proposed regulations. 
 
Section 2  “Advertisement” defined.  “Advertisement” includes, without limitation, calling 
cards, indoor and outdoor signs, stationary, listings in telephone and other directories, and 
advertisements in newspapers, magazines and by electronic means, including, advertisements 
placed on the internet.  
 
Section 3  The term “a national organization of an examination in oriental medicine” defined.  
A national organization of an examination in oriental medicine means an organization which 
is accredited by the United States Education Department for Oriental Medicine.  The following 
organizations have been approved by the Board to have met the aforementioned requirements: 
 (a) NCCAOM [Spell out NCCAOM]. 
 
Section 4  Approved 4 year Colleges of Oriental Medicine defined. ”Approved 4 year colleges 
of oriental medicine college” means a college or course of study or training, which: 
 (1) provides course(s) of study  in: 

(a) Acupuncture;  (b) Moxibustion; (c) Herbology; (d) Oriental physiology; (e) 
Oriental pathology; (f) Oriental diagnosis; (g) Tuina; 

  (h) Biology; (i) physics; (j) chemistry; (k) biochemistry; (l) anatomy; 
(m) western physiology; (n) western pathology; (o) western diagnosis; (p) 
pharmacology; (q) laboratory; (r) radiology; 

 (2) completes not less than 3000 school hours including not less than 2500 didactic hours 
and 150 semester credits in courses; 
 (3) is approved by the Board. SEE NAC 634A…. 
 
Section 5  “Approved Continuing education Course” defined. “Approved course” means a 
course or study or training for continuing education which is: 
 (1) Offered by a recognized provider of continuing education; and  
 (2) Approved by the Board for a specific number of units of continuing education. 
 
Section 6  “Recognized provider of continuing education” defined. “Recognized provider of 
continuing education” means any person or organization approved by the Board to be a 
recognized provider of continuing education. 
 
Section 7  “Unit of Continuing education” defined. “Unit of continuing education” means 10  
hours of instruction in an approved course. 
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Section 8  Qualifications.  To be eligible for licensure by the board as a doctor of oriental 
medicine, an applicant must: 
 1.  Be of good moral character; 
 2.  Have complied with the boards educational requirements as set forth in NRS and NAC 
chapter 634A; and  
 3.  Successfully complete the board practical examination. 
 
Section 9  Application; Contents; Fee.  A person who desires to be licensed by the board as a 
doctor of oriental medicine must; 
 1.   File an application, in writing, on a form provided by the board for licensure with the 
Executive Director of the board within 6 months before the date of the examination in which 
the applicant wishes to participate; 
 2.  An application must be completed in English by the applicant, and must be either typed 
or written. 
 3.  Include in his application his social security number and evidence, under oath, 
satisfactory to the board, that he possesses the qualifications required by NRS and NAC 
chapter 634A for licensure as a doctor of oriental medicine; 
 4.  Pay to the board at the time of filing his application a fee set by a regulation of the 
board in an amount not to exceed $1000.00; 
 5.  Submit his fingerprints to the board with his application; and 
 5.  Submit other documentation and proof the may require. 
 
Section 10  Successful completion of the National Examination.  An applicant applying for 
licensure as a doctor of oriental medicine must successfully: 
 (a) Pass the national examination, as defined in NAC 645 …, in both acupuncture and 
herbology within 2 years of the date of the applicants application or  
 (b) successfully demonstrate that he or she has been actively licensed and practicing 
oriental medicine in another jurisdiction approved by the board since successfully passing the 
national exam(s) in herbology and acupuncture.  
 
Section 11  Use of Fictitious name; board approval required.   
 1.   A licensee shall not operate under a fictitious name unless he complies with chapter 
602 of the NRS and files with the board a certified copy of the certificates issued by the county 
clerk.  The board shall not issue more than one license nor register more than one licensee 
under the same name. 
 2.  Any licensee who wishes to practice under a fictitious name must submit an application 
to the board, on a form provided by the board.  Said application is subject to board approval 
and must be accompanied by a $50.00 fee. 
 
Section 12  Loss of License.   
 1.  If a license must be surrendered and is not, the licensee shall file an affidavit with the 
board showing that the license has been lost, destroyed or stolen.  The affidavit must contain 
the licensee’s promise to return the license if it is recovered. 
 2.  If a license has been lost, destroyed or stolen the licensee must submit an affidavit 
stating such occurred and pay the appropriate fee for a replacement copy. 
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Section 13  Grounds for rejection of application.  If it appears that: 
 1.  An applicant for licensure as a doctor of oriental medicine is not qualified or is not of 
good moral character or reputation; 
 2.  Any credential submitted is false; or 
 3.  The application is not made in proper form or other deficiencies appear in it, the 
application may be rejected. 
 
Section 14  Termination of license issued to alien.  A license issued to an alien automatically 
terminates if he loses his entitlement to remain and work in the United States.  A license 
issued to an alien after January1, 2002, must state in a conspicuous manner the following: 
“This license is issued subject to any limitations imposed by the United States Department of 
Justice, Immigration and Naturalization Service.  This license becomes void immediately upon 
the termination of the right of the person named hereon to remain and work in the United 
States lawfully.” 
 
Section 15  NAC 634A.137 Temporary Certificate for Lecturing or Educational Seminars.  A 
temporary certificate for lecturing or educational seminar(s) shall be issued by the Board, 
pursuant to NRS 634A.165 only after person(s) requesting such temporary certificate meet all 
of the following requirements:    
 (a) The person(s) requesting a temporary certificate submit an application to the Board.  
Said application must include, the lecturers curriculum vitae, the acupuncture or herbology  
topic seeking to being taught, the specific dates such temporary certificate is requested; 
 (b)  Successful submission and approval by the Board of the lecturer(s) proof that he or 
she is licensed in the field of acupuncture or herbology in another state and/or the instructors 
competence is the area to which the lecturer will teach; 
 (c) submission of a $100.00 application fee to the Executive Director of the Board; and  
 (d) Board approval of the aforementioned requirements during one of the Board’s 
regularly scheduled meetings. 
 
Section 16  Continuing education providers; Requirements.  To be recognized and approved 
by the Board as a continuing education provider person(s) or entity(s) seeking such Board 
approval must: 
 (a) submit to the Board any and all materials relating to the curriculum to be taught to 
which describe, in detail, the subjects of the courses and names of the proposed  instructors; 
and 
 (b) submit a $100.00 application fee; and  
 (c) be approved by the Board during its regularly scheduled meeting. 
 
Section 17  Failure to pay annual license renewal fees on or before February 1.  Any licensee 
who fails to pay his or her annual license renewal fee on or before February 1 will have his 
license automatically suspended by the Executive Director of the Board pursuant to NRS 
634A.   
 
Section 18  NAC 634A_____  Fees; Amounts.  The Board will charge and collect the following 
fees: 
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Original application for licensure as a doctor of oriental medicine…….…………$400.00 
Initial background check fee(s)……………………………………………………  $300.00 
License renewal fee (received on or before Feb. 1)………………………………   $400.00 
Late fee for License renewal fee (received within 90 days after Feb. 1)…………    $50.00 
Late fee for License renewal fee (received after 90 days after Feb. 1)…………… $100.00 
Original application for use of fictitious name ……………………………………  $50.00 
Replacement fee for lost identification card……………………………………….   $20.00 
Replacement fee for lost license certificate…………………………………………  $40.00 
Original fee board practical exam………………………………………………… $______ 
Re-examination fee for board practical exam………………………………………$300.00 
License inactivation fee……………………………………………………………… $50.00 
Application fee for a review of a continuing education course offered by a 
 provider for approval…………………………………………….…………. $100.00 
Application for temporary certificate for lecturing or training…….………………$100.00 
Return check/insufficient funds fee………………………………………..……….   $25.00 
Copies of statutes and regulations…………………………………………..……….  $10.00 
Copies charge (per page) …………………………………………………………… 25 cents 
 
Section 19  Filing of petition; copies.  The petition must be filed with the board.  The original 
and 12 copies of the petition must be filed, together with the original and 12 copies of the 
proposed regulation. 
 
Section 20  Time limit for request to board for consideration or action upon a matter at 
meeting.  A request for the board to consider or take action upon a matter at a meeting must 
be received by the board at least 15 business days before the date of the meeting.  
 
Section 21 Amend NAC 634A.010 as follows:   NAC 634A.010 Office of board. The principal 
office of the board is the office of that person designated as the [secretary-treasurer] Executive 
Director of the board. The office of the board will be open during regular business hours. 
 
Section 22 Amend NAC 634A.030 as follows:   NAC 634A.030 Copy of regulations and 
records of board. Persons requesting a copy of the regulations of the board will be charged [$1] 
$10.00 to cover the cost of copying, handling and mailing. Persons requesting copies of other 
records of the board which are open and available to the public by law will be charged [20] 25 
cents per page for all copies. 
 
Section 23 Amend NAC 634A.040 as follows:  
 NAC 634A.040 Doctors of Oriental medicine, [acupuncture or herbal medicine]: Evidence 
of education. 
 1.  Each applicant for a license to practice Oriental medicine, [acupuncture or herbal 
medicine] must present evidence satisfactory to the board which discloses in detail the formal 
schooling or other type of training the applicant has previously undertaken which qualifies him 
as a practitioner of Oriental medicine, acupuncture or herbal medicine. 
 2.  Satisfactory evidence of formal schooling or other training [may] must include, but is not 
limited to, certified copies of diplomas, transcripts and licenses, if any, issued to an applicant by 
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any college or university in the United States or any foreign country. [the Government of the 
Republic of China (Taiwan), the People’s Republic of China, Korea or Japan.] 
 3.  [Whenever possible,] all copies of official diplomas, transcripts and licenses or certificates 
must be forwarded directly to the board’s Executive Director from the issuing agency rather than 
from the applicant. 
 
Section 24 Amend NAC 634A.040 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.045 Doctors of Oriental medicine, [acupuncture or herbal medicine]: Evidence 
of experience. An applicant for a license to practice as a doctor of Oriental medicine, [a doctor 
of acupuncture or a doctor of herbal medicine] must present satisfactory evidence to the board 
that he has practiced such a healing art full time for a minimum of [6] 4 years before the date of 
his application. 
 
Section 25 Amend NAC 634A.050 by deleting it in its entirety as follows: 
 [NAC 634A.050 Assistants in acupuncture: Evidence of education. 
 1.  An applicant for a license as an assistant in acupuncture must present to the board 
satisfactory evidence that shows in detail his successful completion of a 3-year course of study in 
acupuncture in any school or college approved by the board in any country, territory or province 
teaching such a skill. 
 2.  Satisfactory evidence of formal schooling or other equivalent training totaling 1400 or 
more hours of study may include, but is not limited to, certified copies of diplomas, transcripts or 
licenses issued by the Republic of China (Taiwan), the People’s Republic of China, Korea or 
Japan. 
 3.  An applicant for a license as an assistant in acupuncture may submit with his application a 
certificate or license issued by the Republic of China (Taiwan), the People’s Republic of China, 
Korea or Japan, which acknowledges that the applicant possesses the necessary qualifications to 
practice acupuncture. 
 4.  Whenever possible, all copies of official diplomas, transcripts, licenses or certificates 
must be forwarded directly to the board from the issuing agency rather than from the applicant.] 
 
Section 26 Amend NAC 634A.055 as follows:    
 NAC 634A.055 English requirement. 
 1.  [Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2,] each applicant for a license must 
demonstrate at the time of examination a reasonable proficiency in the English language through 
an oral interview.  If an applicant has graduated from a foreign school or college, he or she 
must take and successfully pass the TOEFLE exam with a score of not less than 550 before 
taking the board practical examination.  
 2.  Subparagraph (1) is waived if the applicant successfully demonstrates to the Board that 
he or she graduated from and accredited high school or college located within the United 
States. 
 [2.  No applicant for a license as an assistant in acupuncture is required to satisfy the English 
requirement of this section.] 
 
Section 27 Amend NAC 634A.060 by deleting it in its entirety as follows: 
 [NAC 634A.060 Applicants failing examination: Alternative license as assistant in 
acupuncture. An applicant for a license as a doctor of Oriental medicine or a doctor of 
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acupuncture whose grade on the examination given by the board falls below that required for a 
person to be licensed as a doctor of Oriental medicine or a doctor of acupuncture may be 
licensed as an assistant in acupuncture if he meets the standards set by the board for such a 
position.] 
 
Section 28 Amend NAC 634A.065 by deleting it in its entirety as follows: 
 [NAC 634A.065 Relicensure of assistants in acupuncture as doctors: Generally. A person 
who is licensed as an assistant in acupuncture and who desires to be licensed as a doctor of 
Oriental medicine or a doctor of acupuncture may appear before the board at any regular meeting 
to demonstrate his proficiency in English, and if the licensee meets all the other requirements of 
NRS 634A.140, he may be relicensed as a doctor of Oriental medicine or a doctor of acupuncture 
without an additional examination or fee.] 
 
Section 29 Amend NAC 634A.070 by deleting it in its entirety as follows: 
 [NAC 634A.070 Relicensure of assistants in acupuncture as doctors: Examination. 
 1.  If a person is licensed by the board as an assistant in acupuncture because he lacks the 
number of years of experience required by NRS 634A.140 or the ability to communicate 
reasonably in the English language, the person, if his score on the examination would ordinarily 
have qualified him for licensure as a doctor of Oriental medicine or a doctor of acupuncture, will 
automatically be relicensed as a doctor of Oriental medicine or doctor of acupuncture, as 
appropriate, when the person submits satisfactory evidence to the board that he is reasonably 
fluent in the English language. 
 2.  An assistant in acupuncture whose original test score was below the level required for 
licensure as a doctor of Oriental medicine or a doctor of acupuncture must pass another 
examination before his license will be upgraded to that of doctor.] 
 
Section 30 Amend NAC 634A.080 by deleting it in its entirety as follows: 
 [NAC 634A.080 Applications. 
 1.  Applications for a license to practice Oriental medicine, or any branch thereof, must be 
filed with the secretary-treasurer Executive Director of the board at least 6 months before the 
date of the examination in which the applicant wishes to participate. 
 2.  An application must be completed in English by the applicant, and must be either typed or 
written.] 
 
Section 31 Amend NAC 634A.100 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.100 Board Practical Examination. 
 1.  The Board’s Practical Examination Examinations will be given in June and December of 
each year. 
 2.  During the examination, only [members of the board,] the testing consultant, the 
applicants, [or others specifically requested by the board to be present,] will be allowed in the 
examination rooms. 
 3.  Various sections of the examination may be given in written, oral or demonstrative form. 
 4.  As a part of any examination, the board may examine an applicant as to his [basic 
knowledge of anatomy, physiology, bacteriology, biochemistry, pathology] knowledge of the 
following subjects; 

(a) needling demonstration on a patient or applicant himself; 
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(b) sterilization skills; 
(c) use and skill of herbs; 
(d) basic medical science; 
(e) State of Nevada Regulations on Health and Safety Laws;  
(f) proficient use of the English language. 

 [5.  Each applicant for a license as a doctor of Oriental medicine, a doctor of acupuncture or 
an assistant in acupuncture shall bring with him to the examination, at his own expense, his own 
needles and other equipment necessary for demonstrating his skill and proficiency in 
acupuncture.] 
 6.  Each applicant shall take the examination in the English language. 
 7.  An applicant for licensure must receive an overall score of [70] 75 percent on the 
examination [and 60 percent on all of its sections or subparts] to pass the examination. 
 8.  An applicant may only sit for the board practical exam upon a showing of successful 
completion of the National examination in both herbology and acupuncture, as required by 
NAC 634A…. 
 9. The Executive Director shall notify the applicant of the time and place of the examination 
not later than 20 days before the date scheduled for the examination. 
 
Section 32 Amend NAC 634A.110 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.110 Reexaminations. 
 1.  An applicant for a license from the board who has failed an examination may apply for 
reexamination by the board no earlier than 6 months after the date of the examination failed by 
the applicant. A person seeking reexamination shall notify the [secretary-treasurer] Executive 
Director of the board by completing a form prescribed by the board and submitting therewith a 
fee of [$100] $300.00. 
 2.  If an applicant who has failed an examination of the board failed only one section of the 
examination, he will be reexamined only with respect to the section he failed. If the applicant 
failed two or more sections of the examination, he must repeat the entire examination at the time 
of reexamination. 
 3.  Any applicant for a license may take the prescribed examination or any portion thereof no 
more than three times within any 5-year period. If an applicant must retake only a portion of an 
examination and the applicant does not successfully complete that portion after his third attempt, 
he must at any future reexamination repeat the entire examination then being administered by the 
board. 
 
Section 33 Amend NAC 634A.120 by deleting it in it’s entirety as follows: 
 [NAC 634A.120 Conflicts of interest. No member of the board or the Oriental medicine 
advisory committee will participate in preparing, examining or grading an examination or in any 
other decision made with respect to any applicant to whom the member is related in the third 
degree of affinity or consanguinity.] 
 
Section 34 Amend NAC 634A.135 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.135 Requirements for continuing education; placement of license on inactive 
status; reinstatement to active status. 
 1.  A person licensed to practice Oriental medicine or any branch thereof shall complete, 
during each calendar year, at least 10 hours of continuing education. 
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 2.  The continuing education must be in a subject relating to the field of Oriental medicine or 
acupuncture, or both, must be provided to licensees in a format of personal instruction, including 
in a classroom or at an educational seminar, and must be approved by the board. As used in this 
subsection, “personal instruction” does not include instruction provided in a video format. 
 3.  A licensee who is not practicing in this state may request the board to classify his license 
as inactive. A person who holds an inactive license is exempt from the requirements set forth in 
this section regarding continuing education. 
 4.  A person who is requesting the board to change the classification of his license from 
inactive to active must: 
 (a) Satisfy the requirements of continuing education for the year in which he seeks to 
reclassify his license; and 
 (b) Submit proof to the board that he has satisfied the applicable requirements, and 
 (c) Submit his [$500.00] $400.00 annual renewal fees to the Board. 
 
Section 35 Amend NAC 634A.140 as follows: 
NAC 634A.140 [Registration] Annual license renewal fees. 
 1.  Each person who holds a license to practice as a doctor of oriental medicine [Oriental 
medicine, acupuncture or herbal medicine shall] must [pay] submit to the board an annual 
license renewal [registration] fee of $400 on or before February 1 of each year. 
 [2.  Each person who holds a license to act as an assistant in acupuncture shall pay to the 
board an annual registration fee of $500.] 
 
Section 36 Amend NAC 634A.150 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.150 Failure to pay [registration] annual license renewal fees on or before 
February 1.  Any person whose license has been suspended and/or canceled pursuant to NRS 
634A.160 [and who desires another license from the board] by the Executive Director of the 
Board may have his or her license reinstated if he or she within 90 days after February 1: 
 1.  [Pays] Submits to the board all annual [registration] renewal fees due at the time of 
reinstatement for all years in which the fees were not paid and to which license inactive status 
was not requested; [or]   
 2.  [Successfully completes the examination then being prescribed by the board for new 
licensees.]  Submits a $50.00 late renewal fee; and  
 3.  Successfully complies with the Board’s current continuing education requirements for 
license renewal. 
 4.  If the licensee fails to pay his renewal fee within 90 days after February 1(NRS 
634A.160) the licensees, license may only be reinstated by the Board, during a regularly 
scheduled Board meeting.  In addition, a $100.00 late renewal fee will be imposed. 
 
Section 37 Amend NAC 634A.160 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.160 Surrender of license and identification card when license revoked or 
suspended. 
 1.  If a license is revoked, the license and the identification card previously issued by the 
board must be surrendered by the licensee to the [secretary-treasurer] Executive Director of the 
board within 5 days of receipt of a notice of revocation. 
 2.  If a license is suspended for a fixed period, the license and the identification card 
previously issued by the board must be surrendered by the licensee to the [secretary-treasurer] 
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Executive Director of the board within 5 days after receipt of a notice of suspension. [The 
license and identification card will be returned to the licensee upon the termination of the 
suspension.] 
 
Section 38 Amend NAC 634A.170 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.170 Causes for disciplinary action. The board considers the following acts to 
be unethical and unprofessional conduct warranting appropriate disciplinary action: 
 1.  The division or “splitting” of fees with another licensee, unless the other licensee has 
actually rendered services, other than referral, to the first licensee in connection with one or more 
of his patients. A person licensed by this board shall not: 
 (a) Employ another to solicit or obtain, or remunerate another for soliciting or obtaining, 
professional employment for the licensee. 
 (b) Directly or indirectly share with an unlicensed person any compensation arising out of or 
incidental to professional employment. 
 (c) Directly or indirectly aid or abet an unlicensed person to practice Oriental medicine, 
acupuncture or herbal medicine or to receive compensation therefrom. 
 2.  The use of any testimonial, whether paid for or not, to solicit or encourage use of the 
licensee’s services by members of the public. 
 3.  The making or publishing, or causing to be made or published, any advertisement, offer, 
statement or other form of representation, oral or written, which directly or by implication is 
false, misleading or deceptive. It is sufficient in bringing any proceeding for violation of this 
subsection that any advertising of the type referred to has a tendency to deceive, mislead or be 
harmful to the public even though no member of the public is actually deceived, misled or 
harmed by the advertising. 
 4.  The use of any fictitious name that has not been approved by the board. 
 
Section 39 Amend NAC 634A.190 by deleting it in it’s entirety as follows: 
 [NAC 634A.190 Restrictions on procedures performed by assistants in acupuncture. 
 1.  A person licensed as an assistant in acupuncture is restricted in his activities to only those 
procedures which a licensed, supervising doctor of Oriental medicine or a doctor of acupuncture 
may request him to do by a written order. 
 2.  An assistant in acupuncture may not perform any diagnosis of patients or recommend or 
prescribe any forms of treatment or medication. 
 3.  An assistant in acupuncture may treat patients only under the direct supervision of a 
doctor of Oriental medicine or a doctor of acupuncture who is on the same premises where the 
treatment is to be given.] 
 
Section 40 Amend NAC 634A.200 by deleting it in it’s entirety as follows:  
 [NAC 634A.200 Supervision of assistants in acupuncture. A doctor of Oriental medicine or a 
doctor of acupuncture shall not employ or attempt to supervise more than one assistant in 
acupuncture.] 
 
Section 41 Amend NAC 634A.230 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.230 Refund of fee for application; reject of application; Fees and 
remittances. 
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 1.  Fees and remittances must be paid to the board by money order, bank draft or check 
payable to “State Board of Oriental Medicine.” Remittances in currency or coin are wholly at the 
risk of the remitter and the board assumes no responsibility for their loss. Postage stamps will not 
be remitted. 
 2.  [The board may refund any part of the application fee to an applicant for good cause 
shown.] The board will not refund any portion of the fee for application if an applicant: 
 (a) Does not complete his application by providing all the documentation as required by 
the form for application within 6 months after the actual date of filing of the form by the 
applicant; 
 (b) withdraws his application; or 
 (c) Dies before he is issued a license by the board. 
 3.  Applications which are not completed within 6 months, an applications received without 
sufficient funds will be rejected by the Executive Director. 
 4.  A $25.00 fee will be imposed by the Board against any licensee or applicant whose 
check or payment is returned for insufficient funds. 
 
Section 42 Amend NAC 634A.370 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.370 Complaints: Contents; joinder of causes; filing. 
 1.  Upon the initiative of any interested person, or upon the initiative of any member of the 
board, a complaint may be made alleging one or more causes of action based on chapter 634A of 
NRS. [Facts constituting acts or omissions must be stated with such particularity as to enable the 
respondent to prepare a defense to the complaint. All applicable citations, statutes, regulations or 
orders of the board must be stated with the dates on which the acts or omissions occurred. If 
more than one cause of action is alleged, each cause of action must be stated and numbered 
separately.] 
 2.  The licensee must be given at least 30 days notice in writing by the board of the date, 
time and place of the hearing together with a copy of the complaint and copies of all 
communications, reports, affidavits or depositions in possession of the board relevant to the 
complaint.  The board may only present evidence obtained after the notice only if the board 
shows that the evidence was not available after diligent investigation before the time of notice 
was given to the licensee and that the evidence was given or communicated to the licensee 
immediately after it was received.  
 2.  Two or more complainants may join in one complaint if their respective causes of action 
are against the same person and deal with substantially the same violation of a law, regulation or 
order of the board. 
 3.  Every complaint must be in writing and must be filed with the [secretary-treasurer] 
Executive Director of the board. 
 4.  Complaints will be set for hearing at the earliest convenience of the board, unless notice 
of satisfaction of the complaint, by answer or otherwise, is received by the board. 
 
Section 42 Amend NAC 634A.370 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.380 Answers. 
 [1.  Upon receipt of a verified complaint, the board will forward a copy thereof to the party or 
parties against whom the complaint is made. The party or parties may respond to the complaint 
by filing an answer within 20 days of receipt thereof. 
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     2.  If a party fails to answer within 20 days, he shall be deemed to have denied generally the 
allegations of the complaint.] 
 1.  The licensee shall file an answer to the charges with the board no later than 20 days 
after service of the notice and other documents described in Subsection 2 of NAC 634A.370.  
The answer must contain an admission or denial of the allegations contained in the complaint 
and any defenses upon which the licensee will rely.  If no answer is filed within the time limit 
prescribed in this subsection, the board may, after notice to the licensee served in a manner 
authorized subsection 1 of NAC 634A.410, move for entry of default against the licensee. 
 2.  The answer may be served by delivery to the board principal office, or by mailing the 
answer by certified mail to the principal office of the board. 
 
Section 43 Amend NAC 634A.410 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.410 Service of process. 
 1.  All complaints, notices, opinions and documents required to be served by the board, other 
than decisions or orders, and all documents filed by any party must be done in compliance with 
Nevada Rules of Civil Procedure 4. [may be served by mail, and service thereof shall be deemed 
complete when a copy of the paper or document, properly addressed and stamped, is deposited in 
the United States mail. 
 2.  Parties will be notified either personally or by certified mail of any decision or order.] 
 
Section 44 Amend NAC 634A.420 by deleting it in it’s entirety as follows:     
 [NAC 634A.420 Proof of service. There will appear on all documents required to be served 
by the board, other than decisions or orders, an acknowledgment of service or the following 
certificate: 
 

I hereby certify that I have this day served the foregoing document upon all parties of 
record in this proceeding (by delivering a copy thereof in person to ........................) (by 
mailing a copy thereof, properly addressed, with postage prepaid, to ........................). 

 Dated at ........................, this ……..(day) of ……………(month) of ……..(year) 
 
                                                                                    ................................................................  
 Signature] 
 
Section 45 Amend NAC 634A.430 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.430 Hearings held before board: Location; notice. 
 1.  Hearings will be held at such place in the state as is designated by the board in the notice 
of the hearing and in compliance with NRS 233B and NRS 241. 
 2.  A hearing which has previously been continued may be reset upon a good faith/cause 
showing and at least 15 days [on] notice [of at least 10 days]. 
 
Section 46 Amend NAC 634A.440 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.440 Continuances; procedure.The board may before a hearing or during a 
hearing, on proper good faith showing, grant a continuance for the submission of further or 
additional proof of any subject relevant to the hearing.  Requests for continuances of matter set 
for hearing before the board must be received 7 business days before the scheduled hearing 
and will be granted upon a good faith showing.  
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Section 47 Amend NAC 634A.450 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.450 Failure of party to appear. 
 1.  If a party fails to appear at a hearing scheduled by the board and no continuance has been 
requested or granted, the board may hear the evidence of such witnesses as may have appeared 
and the board may proceed to consider the matter and dispose of it on the basis of the evidence 
before it. 
 2.  If, because of accident, sickness or other reasonable cause, a person fails to appear for a 
hearing scheduled by the board or fails to request a continuance thereof, the person may, within a 
reasonable period of time not to exceed 15 days, apply to the [secretary-treasurer] Executive 
Director of the board to reopen the proceedings, and the board, upon finding such cause 
sufficient and reasonable, will immediately fix a time and place for a hearing and give the person 
notice thereof. At the time and place fixed, the person may testify in his own behalf or present 
such other evidence as may be beneficial to his cause. Witnesses who have previously testified 
are not required to appear at the second hearing unless so directed by the board. 
 
Section 48 Amend NAC 634A.460 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.460 Subpoenas. 
 1.  Subpoenas requiring the attendance of a witness at a hearing may be issued by the 
[secretary-treasurer] President of the board upon application in writing. 
 2.  Subpoenas for the production of documents, books or other records, unless issued by the 
board on its own motion, will be issued only upon application in writing. The application must 
specify, as clearly as possible, the documents, books or other records desired. 
 3.  The board, at or before the time specified in the subpoena for compliance therewith, may: 
 (a) Quash the subpoena if it is unreasonable or oppressive; or 
 (b) Condition denial of a motion upon the advancement by the person in whose behalf the 
subpoena is issued of the reasonable cost of producing the documents, books or other records 
desired. 
 
Section 49 Amend NAC 634A.480 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.480 Preliminary procedure. The [presiding member] President of the board 
shall call the proceeding or hearing to order and proceed to take the appearances and act upon 
any pending motions. The parties may then make opening statements. 
 
Section 50 Amend NAC 634A.560 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.560 [Form of] petition for declaratory order, advisory opinion; procedure 
for consideration. 
 [1.  All petitions for declaratory orders and advisory opinions must be in writing using 
substantially the format of Form No. 1.* 
 2.  Upon submission of a petition for a declaratory order or advisory opinion, the board will, 
within 30 days, either deny the petition in writing, stating its reasons, or initiate proceedings 
pursuant to NRS 233B.060. 
*See adopting agency for form.] 
 1.  A petition for a declaratory order or advisory opinion may be filed by a 
holder of or an applicant for a license or permit to practice as a doctor of oriental 
medicine.  
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 2.  The original and seven copies of the petition must be filed with the executive director of 
the board not less than 10 days before the next regularly scheduled meeting of the board. The 
executive director will submit the petition to the board at that meeting. Within 30 days after the 
meeting, the board will issue its declaratory order or advisory opinions. 
 
Section 51 Amend NAC 634A.570 as follows: 
 NAC 634A.570 Petitions requesting adoption, amendment or repeal of regulations. 
 [1.  All petitions requesting the adoption, filing, amendment or repeal of any regulation must 
be in writing using substantially the format of Form No. 2.* 
 2.  A copy of any denial or other correspondence from the board to the petitioner will be 
served by mailing a copy thereof to the petitioner. 
*See adopting agency for form.] 
A petition requesting the adoption, filing, amendment or repeal of any regulation must be 
accompanied by a draft of the proposed regulation in a form suitable for filing with the secretary 
of state. 
 


