Click on a question for more information
The Unit assists and provides citizens with information about State laws, agency regulations, legislative sessions, and assistance with contacting and working with state and local agencies.
Chapter 624 of the Nevada Revised Statutes includes provisions that govern contractors in the State of Nevada. The Nevada State Contractors' Board (NSCB) implements and enforces these provisions, which include determining qualifications of applicants for licensing, handling licensee complaints and investigations, and conducting disciplinary proceedings of licensees who are found in violation of the law.
To report unlicensed contracting, you may call the NSCB in Las Vegas at 702-486-1100 or in Reno at 775 850- 1141. You also may file a report online at http://www.nvcontractorsboard.com/report.html. For more information, see the NSCB's consumer brochures and guides at http://www.nvcontractorsboard.com/consumer_brochures_and_guides.html.
Going into default means failing to pay back your loan according to the terms agreed upon in the promissory note. Most federal student loans will go into default if payment has not been received in more than 270 days. (See http://forgivemystudentdebt.org/how-to-get-out-of-default/#pslf-loan-payoff.) The following are some options available if your student loan goes into default:
- Negotiation: Contact the collection agency to develop a plan to get out of default. The collection agency has the authority to reduce late fees and collection fees but is not required to reduce these fees. If you still need assistance, you can contact the Federal Student Aid Ombudsman Group of the United States Department of Education (U.S. DOE, FSA Ombudsman Group, P.O. Box 1843, Monticello, KY 42633 or 1 877 557 2575) or complete the Ombudsman Group's online assistance request form. The ombudsman can open a case and serve as a mediator between you and the collection agency.
- Rehabilitation: Contact the collection agency to develop a plan to rehabilitate the loan. This involves paying an extra amount above the amount being garnished for nine to twelve months. If you successfully make all the extra payments, your loan would no longer be considered in default status. This would not change the amount you owe on your loan.
- Consolidation: Apply to consolidate your loans to get out of default. This option is available even if you have only one loan. The application process takes 30 to 60 days. Once the loans are consolidated, the new loan pays off the old defaulted loan. As part of this process, you can also request an income-based repayment plan, which can significantly reduce your payments. This option is much quicker and less costly than the rehabilitation option discussed above. Information on loan consolidation is available at https://studentaid.ed.gov/sa/repay-loans/consolidation or by calling 1-800-557-7392.
- Cancellation: You can cancel the loan only in limited circumstances, including problems with the school, your total and permanent disability, and career-related forgiveness programs.
- Pay Off the Balance: You can also pay off the balance of the remaining loan amount to get out of default.
- More information is available at http://studentaid.ed.gov/repay-loans.
- If you would like assistance for private student loans, you can contact the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau online at http://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/ or by calling 1-855-411-2372.
- For a list of ombudsman contact information for a variety of types of student loans, prepared by Student Loan Borrower Assistance, National Consumer Law Center, see http://www.studentloanborrowerassistance.org/resources/referral-resource/ombudsman-programs/.
- The statute of limitations in Nevada for credit card debt is six years under NRS 11.190. For hospital debts, the statute of limitations in Nevada is four years under NRS 11.2095. After the statute of limitation has expired, the debt may be considered time-barred debt under certain circumstances, and the debt collector may not be successful in suing you to collect the debt.
- If a debt collector contacts you about time-barred debt, you can review your options on the Federal Trade Commission's website at http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0117-time-barred-debts.
- Within five days of first contacting you, the debt collector must send a validation notice that indicates how much you owe, the name of the creditor, and what to do if you do not think you owe money.
- Within 30 days of receiving the validation notice, you can send the debt collector a letter stating that you dispute the debt and request verification of the debt.
- You have the right to notify the debt collector to stop contacting you. However, the collection agency can continue to notify you about the status of your account.
- For more information about your rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, see http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0149-debt-collection.
- Under NRS 649.075, debt collection agencies doing business in Nevada must be licensed in the State. The state agency responsible for licensing debt collection agencies is the Division of Financial Institutions of the Nevada Department of Business and Industry.
- To determine if a collection agency is licensed, you can go to https://fid.online.nv.gov/datamart/mainMenu.do and click on Public License Search.
- If the collection agency does not appear to be licensed in Nevada, you can locate the Division's complaint form at http://fid.nv.gov/Resources/Resources/ or call 702-486-4120.
The Department of Public Safety (DPS) on July 1st of each year updates the list of other state CCW permits recognized in Nevada pursuant to NRS 202.3689. The most current list may be found on the DPS website.
Non-residents of Nevada may apply with any Nevada county sheriff's office. Nevada residents must apply with the sheriff office of their resident county. In most cases, training in a basic firearms course approved by the sheriff is necessary as part of the application process.
Clark County (Las Vegas): General information about the application process in Clark County, including the CCW application form, may be found on the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department's webpage.
Washoe County (Reno): General information about the application process in Washoe County, including the CCW application form, may be found on the Washoe County Sheriff's Office webpage.
Contact information for other county sheriffs in Nevada may be found in the Directory of State and Local Government on the Legislature's website.
Contact information for Nevada's United States Senators and Representatives is available on the Legislature's website as a Fact Sheet.
Contact information for legislators is available on the Legislature's website both for the Assembly and the Senate. If you do not know who your legislators are, you may use the Who's My Legislator/What's my District Tool on the Legislature's website.
A Bill Draft Request is proposed legislation translated into proper legal terminology. The content remains confidential until introduced in the house of origin. A list of Bill Draft Requests for the upcoming or current legislative session is located on the Legislature's website under BDR List.
Contact your local city or county government offices. Contact information may be found at the websites listed below:
Clark County (Public Response Office)
City of Las Vegas (Code Enforcement Division)
City of North Las Vegas (Contact City Webpage)
City of Henderson (Code Enforcement Division)
Washoe County (Code Enforcement)
City of Reno (Code Enforcement Division)
City of Sparks (Code Enforcement Officer)
Carson City (Code Enforcement Division)
The Office of Consumer Health Assistance helps individuals understand their rights and responsibilities under various health care plans.
The Office of Consumer Health Assistance helps individuals understand their rights and responsibilities under policies of industrial insurance.
Nevada 2-1-1™ provides information on and referral to a variety of health, welfare, and human services programs and resources throughout Nevada. To find programs that may apply to you, use the online search features at http://www.nevada211.org/, dial 2-1-1 or (866) 535-5654 on your telephone, or send a text message to 898211.
Nevada Care Connection is Nevada's Aging and Disability Resource Center and serves as a "No Wrong Door" access point in Nevada for older adults, people with disabilities, caregivers, and their families who need long-term support and services. You can search for information online at http://nevadaadrc.com/ or send general questions about programs or services to a Program Specialist by emailing email@example.com. You also can find contact information for your local resource center at http://nevadaadrc.com/about-us/resource-center-locations, if you need one-on-one help.
Chapter 118A of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) specifically covers landlord and tenant law involving rental property not in a manufactured home park. The chapter includes provisions related to dwellings, rental agreements, security deposits, habitability of dwelling unit, notice of increase of rent, landlord's access to dwelling unit, failure of landlord to comply with rental agreement, evictions, and the obligations of landlord and tenant. Rental agreements/leases should specify the conditions of your tenancy. Disputes related to rental agreements would have to be addressed by the courts if the parties cannot agree on a resolution.
Chapter 118B of NRS specifically covers landlord and tenant law involving rental property in a manufactured home park. The Manufactured Housing Division of Nevada's Department of Business and Industry investigates complaints between tenants and manufactured home park managers or owners. You can file a complaint with the Division by calling 702-486-4310 in Las Vegas or 775-684-4310 in Carson City or by using the complaint form available online.
Chapter 118 of NRS, also known as the Nevada Fair Housing Law, contains protections against discrimination in housing on the basis of race, religious creed, color, national origin, disability, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, ancestry, familial status, or sex. You can obtain information about your rights under this law and the federal Fair Housing Act online from the Silver State Fair Housing Council or by calling the Council in Las Vegas at 702 749-3288 or Reno at 775-324-0990. You also can obtain help from the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development by calling (800) 347-3739 or completing the agency's online Housing Discrimination Inquiry Form.
The Civil Law Self-Help Center in the Regional Justice Center provides a Landlord/Tenant Ask-a-Lawyer Program each week. Information about the program is available online at http://www.civillawselfhelpcenter.org/classes-programs/free-ask-a-lawyer-programs. The Center also provides detailed information about landlord-tenant issues, including court forms and instructions, at http://www.civillawselfhelpcenter.org/self-help/evictions-housing and on a walk-in basis. The Center is located at:
- Regional Justice Center, First Floor
- 200 Lewis Avenue
- Las Vegas, Nevada 89155
Nevada Legal Services--Las Vegas
Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada
Clark County Neighborhood Justice Center
Nevada Legal Services--Reno
Nevada Legal Services--Carson City
Neighborhood Mediation Center--Reno
Washoe Legal Services--Washoe County
Under certain circumstances, you may be able to have your past offense "sealed." Several years after release from custody may need to pass before a person is eligible to petition a court to have records sealed if the person was convicted. You may review the time periods necessary and the requirements at NRS 179.245 through NRS 179.301. The Clark County District Attorney has compiled a handbook on the process specifically for persons who are trying to seal Clark County records; however, the information may be useful to review for anyone petitioning any Nevada court to seal criminal offense records. The handbook and forms for sealing criminal records within Clark County may be found at this link to the District Attorney's Criminal Division webpage
You may also consider applying for a pardon from the Nevada State Board of Pardons Commissioners. If you have lost your right to bear arms in Nevada, a pardon is probably necessary to restore the right. If you have specific questions about the pardons process, please contact the Executive Secretary of the Board at 775-687-5049.
If you live in Clark County, before filing suit you may wish to consider using the services of the Neighborhood Justice Center. The Center provides free mediation services to the businesses and residents of Clark County. Both parties must agree to have the Center help settle the dispute; it may present significant savings versus going the traditional court route. The Neighborhood Justice Center is located at 330 South Third Street, Suite 600 in Las Vegas. The main telephone number is 702-455-3898.
If your dispute is with a business, you may also wish to contact the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada, Inc. at 702-320-4500 or the Better Business Bureau of Northern Nevada, Inc. at 775-322-0657.
If you live in Washoe County and are seeking free mediation services, you may wish to consider using the Neighborhood Mediation Center, located at 200 Ridge Street, Suite 230, in Reno. For more information, you may visit the Center's website at http://www.mediatenmc.org, call 775-788-2127, or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
Information about filing small claims actions where the amount in controversy does not exceed $10,000 may be found online for certain jurisdictions. In Clark County, you may visit the Civil Law Self-Help Center's small claims process webpage or visit the Civil Law Self-Help Center in person at 200 Lewis Avenue in Las Vegas. Washoe County also hosts a small claims process webpage explaining the filing process. If you live in a different county, the above sources may still be useful; however, contacting your local court system may help minimize differences in procedures that might exist. You may find contact information for local courts on the Nevada Supreme Court's website.
The Real Estate Division, in concert with the Office of the Ombudsman for Owners in Common-Interest Communities and Condominium Hotels (Ombudsman) and the Commission for Common-Interest Communities and Condominium Hotels (Commission), administers laws and regulations relating to common-interest communities (CICs), also commonly called homeowners' associations (HOAs).
- About the Ombudsman:
"The mission of the Office of the Ombudsman for Owners in Common-Interest Communities and Condominium Hotels is to provide a neutral and fair venue to assist homeowners in handling matters that may arise while living in a common-interest community."
- To contact the Ombudsman with questions or complaints about a homeowners' association, call 702-486-4480 or 877-829-9907 (toll free) or send an e-mail to CICOmbudsman@red.nv.gov.
- About the Commission:
"The Commission for Common-Interest Communities and Condominium Hotels is a seven-member body, appointed by the governor that acts in an advisory capacity to the Division, adopts regulations, and conducts disciplinary hearings."
- Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 116—Common-Interest Ownership (Uniform Act)
- NRS Chapter 116A—Common-Interest Communities: Regulation of Community Managers and Other Personnel
- Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) Chapter 116—Management of Common-Interest Communities
- NAC Chapter 116A—Common-Interest Communities: Regulation of Community Managers and Other Personnel
- Main CIC Section of the Real Estate Division's website: http://red.nv.gov/Content/CIC/Main/
- Brochures about CIC issues: http://red.nv.gov/Content/CIC/Brochures/
- Real Estate Division advisory opinions about CICs: http://red.nv.gov/Content/Publications/Division_Advisory_Opinions/
- Division training presentations about CICs: http://red.nv.gov/Content/CIC/Program_Training/Presentations/
- Fast Reference links to Nevada laws about common CIC issues: http://red.nv.gov/Content/CIC/Program_Training/Fast_Reference/
- Consult the Ombudsman (see above for links) and/or see the appropriate information and links to appropriate forms: http://red.nv.gov/Content/Compliance/File_a_Complaint/.
Coverage requirements are $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident; $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons in any one accident; and $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.
When changing from one insurance company to another, be mindful of when your old policy ends and the new policy begins. There is no grace period in Nevada. For example, if your old policy ends at 12:01 a.m. on a specific date and your new policy goes into effect at 12:01 a.m. the next day, your car is considered to be uninsured for one day. The Department of Motor Vehicles' (DMV's) Nevada Liability Insurance Validation Electronic (LIVE) liability insurance verification system will catch the lapse, and you could be faced with reinstatement fees and fines that start at $251. In certain situations, your vehicle’s registration could be suspended as well. For more information, see the DMV's Vehicle Registration and Insurance Reinstatement Guide.
No! If you sell your vehicle, remove the license plates, cancel your registration with the DMV, and then cancel your insurance. If law enforcement stops the new owner before he or she registers the vehicle and it is not covered by insurance, YOU are liable. The reason is because as far as the DMV knows, the vehicle still belongs to you.
Out of state insurance is not accepted by Nevada. All motor vehicle policies must be written according to Nevada requirements. Coverage must be validated by an insurance company authorized to do business in the State of Nevada. Notify your insurance company that you have moved to Nevada to make sure the policy is written to meet Nevada's requirements.
The DMV's Compliance Enforcement Division investigates cases of document fraud, identity theft involving the use of DMV processes, auto dealers and similar businesses, body shops, garages, emissions inspection stations, and driving schools. Complaints can be filed using the forms on the DMV's compliance enforcement webpage.
Yes, Nevada law provides certain protections for purchasers of certain new vehicles covered by original manufacturers' warranties.
A "Lemon Law" is a statute designed to assist buyers whose new motor vehicles have chronic defects. Most states have adopted some form of a lemon law. Under these laws, when a new motor vehicle is found to be defective, the manufacturer must buy it back in certain circumstances. Buyers who believe their vehicle is a "lemon" may wish to consult an attorney about procedures and deadlines.
Nevada's Lemon Law is found in Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 597.600 through 597.688. These laws provide that a purchaser of a new vehicle that does not conform to a manufacturer's express warranties may report the nonconformity in writing to the manufacturer. Written notification must be made to the manufacturer: (1) before the expiration of the manufacturer's express warranties; or (2) no later than one year after the date the motor vehicle is delivered to the original buyer, whichever occurs earlier.
Manufacturers that are notified in writing are required to make the necessary repairs so the vehicle is consistent with the manufacturers' express warranties. The manufacturer, its agent, or an authorized dealer must make a reasonable number of attempts to correct the defect. A reasonable number of attempts is presumed if four or more attempts to repair were made within one year. The Lemon Law also applies if the vehicle is out of service due to the defect for a cumulative 30 days in one year. If the manufacturer is unable to correct the problem and the defect impairs the use and value of the vehicle to the buyer, the manufacturer must replace the vehicle with a comparable vehicle or accept the return of the vehicle and refund the purchase price to the buyer.
If the manufacturer has established a dispute resolution procedure, the buyer must first submit a claim for a refund or replacement under that procedure. Many manufacturers have designated the Better Business Bureau (BBB) to handle these disputes. The BBB's Auto Line dispute resolution program may be accessed here: www.bbb.org/autoline/bbb-auto-line-state-laws/.
Any legal actions brought against a manufacturer must commence within 18 months after delivery of the vehicle to the buyer. A manufacturer or dealer that reacquires a vehicle cannot require the buyer to refrain from disclosing the problems experienced with the vehicle.
Nevada's Lemon Law only applies to "self-propelled" vehicles and does not generally apply to motor homes or off-road vehicles. (NRS 482.075)
Usually a "Lemon Law" refers to provisions relating to vehicles conforming to the original manufacturer's warranty. Thus, even though the vehicle may no longer be owned by the original buyer as a "new" vehicle, the protections of the lemon law may still apply. (See the previous question, "Does Nevada have a 'Lemon Law' for the repairing of vehicles still under the original manufacturer’s warranty?")
In addition, Nevada law does provide certain protections to purchasers of certain higher mileage used motor vehicles. These provisions are found at NRS 482.36655 through 482.36667. A buyer who experiences problems with a used vehicle that has 75,000 or more miles on the odometer and was purchased from a used vehicle dealer may file a complaint, in writing, against the dealer to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Information about the DMV's compliance enforcement activities, including a complaint form, is available at http://www.dmvnv.com/ced.htm. Buyers also may reach one of the DMV's Compliance Enforcement Offices by calling (702) 486-8626 in Las Vegas, (775) 684-4790 in Carson City, or (775) 684-3562 in Reno. The DMV will investigate the complaint. If a violation of law or regulation is determined, the DMV notifies the dealer and recommends the actions necessary to resolve the complaint. If not satisfied with the decision of the DMV, either the dealer or customer may appeal the decision to the Director of the DMV. (NRS 482.36664)
Additional requirements apply to used vehicle dealers that have been the subject of more than three substantiated complaints with the DMV during a 12-month period. These dealers must provide an express warranty on used vehicles they sell that have 75,000 or more miles on the odometer. (NRS 482.36662) These warranties must comply with the following schedule stated at NRS 482.36663:
- For vehicles with at least 75,000 but less than 80,001 miles, the warranty is valid for 30 days or 1,000 miles, whichever comes first;
- For vehicles with at least 80,001 but less than 85,001 miles, the warranty is valid for 20 days or 600 miles, whichever comes first;
- For vehicles with at least 85,001 but less than 90,001 miles, the warranty is valid for 10 days or 300 miles, whichever comes first;
- For vehicles with at least 90,001 but less than 100,001 miles, the warranty is valid for 5 days or 150 miles, whichever comes first; or
- For vehicles with at least 100,001 miles, the warranty is valid for 2 days or 100 miles, whichever comes first.
Under Nevada's Uniform Commercial Code, when a merchant sells goods, including motor vehicles, those goods are subject to an "Implied Warranty of Merchantability." See NRS 104.2314 through 104.2318.
For more information about buying a new car and about Nevada's Lemon Law, see "Buying a New Car," by the Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada, at: www.lacsn.org/practice-areas/consumer-rights-project/car-information/33-buying-a-new-car.
For guidance on how to purchase a used car, as well as additional remedies that may apply to certain situations, see "Buying a Used Car," by the Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada, at: www.lacsn.org/practice-areas/consumer-rights-project/car-information/34-buying-a-used-car.
For residents of Clark County, the Neighborhood Justice Center (NJC) may offer free mediation services for disputes with a car dealership. For more information, please contact the NJC at (702) 455-3898 or visit its website at: www.lasvegasjusticecourt.us/services/neighborhood_justice_center/.