What’s on This Page


    Redistricting Status

    The second meeting of the Committee to Conduct an Investigation into Matters Relating to Reapportionment and Redistricting in Nevada (SCR13) will be held on Saturday, October 23, 2021 at 11:00 am. View meeting details here.

    MyDistricting Nevada, the public, web-based redistricting application, is now available for members of the public to create and submit redistricting plans and communities of interest. For more information about MyDistricting Nevada, view the Get Involved tab

    The U.S. Census Bureau released the 2020 Redistricting Data in a legacy format on August 12, 2021, and a second format, that includes tables, on September 16, 2021. For an overview of Nevada’s 2020 population based on the census results, view the Reapportionment and Redistricting in Nevada: 2020 United States Census Data publication. For demographic maps and statistical tables with the 2020 Census data, view the Demographics tab.

    Redistricting Timeline

    Apr 2020

    Wednesday, April 1st, 2020

    Census Day

    Oct 2020 - Nov 2020

    Tuesday, November 3rd, 2020

    General election; Last election held under 2011-cycle districts

    Feb 2021

    Monday, February 1st, 2021

    81st Legislature convenes

    Mar 2021 - Apr 2021

    Wednesday, March 31st, 2021

    The statutory deadline to provide census data to Nevada

    May 2021 - Jun 2021

    Monday, May 31st, 2021

    81st Legislature adjourns sine die

    Thursday, June 10th, 2021

    Last day for governor to sign or veto regular session bills (including redistricting bills)

    Aug 2021

    Thursday, August 12th, 2021

    Census Bureau released legacy-format 2020 Census Redistricting Data

    Mar 2022

    Monday, March 7th, 2022

    Non-Judicial candidate filing period begins for 2022 primary elections

    Jun 2022

    Tuesday, June 14th, 2022

    First primary elections held under new districts

    Nov 2022

    Tuesday, November 8th, 2022

    First general elections held under new districts

    District Plans

    2011 District Maps

    Redistricting Background

    Reapportionment and Redistricting in Nevada: An Overview (Legislative Counsel Bureau)

    Every ten years, following the Federal Census, the Nevada State Legislature is responsible for reapportioning and redistricting the districts for:

    • The United States House of Representatives;
    • The Nevada State Senate;
    • The Nevada State Assembly; and
    • The Nevada System of Higher Education Board of Regents.

    The Nevada Constitution provides that “representation shall be apportioned according to population” (Article 1, Section 13) and that the census “…shall serve as the basis of representation in both houses of the Legislature” (Article 15, Section 13).

    “Redistricting” is the act of redrawing the boundaries for election districts. Because the population shifts over time, district boundaries must be adjusted periodically to ensure districts are equally populated. Since the 1960s, the U.S. Supreme Court has held that electoral districts must have equal population or nearly equal population so that each person’s vote has equal weight (known as the “one-person, one-vote” requirement).

    “Reapportionment” is the division of a given number of elected members among established political subdivisions in accordance with an existing plan or formula. For example, the 435 seats of the U.S. House of Representatives are reapportioned among the 50 states every 10 years following the decennial census.

    Local governments also reapportion and redistrict the districts for county commission, city council, and school board of trustees. Please contact one of these local governing bodies in your community for more information.

    Redistricting History

    Legislative Redistricting (history of redistricting in Nevada from the 2018 Political History of Nevada)

    View Nevada district boundary changes over time for Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly, and Nevada System of Higher Education Board of Regents districts through a series of interactive maps in the Nevada District Boundary Changes Over Time application.

    The Constitution requires the Legislature to adjust the boundaries of the legislative districts following each decennial census. Due to an impasse that arose when Governor Brian Sandoval vetoed the redistricting measures approved by the Nevada Legislature, the Legislature was unable to complete the legislative and congressional redistricting process during the 120-day regular session in 2011. Following a number of hearings, judicial briefs, motions, and pleas, District Court Judge James T. Russell, in First Judicial District Case Guy et al. v. Miller, appointed three Special Masters to accomplish redistricting. The court-approved maps include four congressional districts (an increase of one), while the size of the Nevada Legislature was retained at 63 members, 21 in the Senate and 42 in the Assembly.

    For the first time in Nevada's redistricting history, all districts in both houses are single-member, and two Assembly districts are perfectly nested within each Senate district. The average population of the Assembly districts is 64,299 people (based on the 2010 U.S. Census). The Senate districts have an average population of 128,598 citizens. The State's population was just over 2.7 million in 2010.

    There are now 15 Senate districts wholly within Clark County; 4 districts in the Washoe County/Carson City area, 1 of which includes five counties in western Nevada; and 2 rural districts. One rural district consists of Churchill, Douglas, Lyon, and Storey Counties. The other one consists of Elko, Eureka, Lincoln, White Pine, and parts of Nye and northern Clark Counties. The 42 Assembly districts include 30 districts wholly within Clark County, 8 districts in the Washoe County/Carson City/western Nevada area, and 4 Assembly districts within the 2 rural Senate districts. View the current district PDF maps.

    2011 Reapportionment and Redistricting

    2011 Redistricting Legislation

    Prior to 2011 Reapportionment and Redistricting

    Additional Information