The Nevada Constitution creates three separate branches of government:  Legislative, Executive, and Judicial.  The legislative authority for the state is vested in the Senate and the Assembly . . . we call these two bodies the houses . . .  which together are designated as “The Legislature of the State of Nevada.”  One of the primary functions of the Legislative Branch is to protect the rights and freedoms of the people, and legislatures throughout the country do this by enacting laws and laying down the groundwork for carrying out those laws.